Women's March 2019steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago

I attended the Women's March 2019 today. It's also my first time to ever rally for anything or for anyone. I used to think that rallies are for people who have an issue that wants to be heard and the end result will be peaceful and at least a start of a conversation.

Unfortunately, women have been fighting for their rights for god knows how long and in our current country's state, it's getting a lot more difficult to be heard and be listened to.

I went to the march today because it's only been 3 years since i've been here in the US but i've seen enough things for me to want to act on it and not just be a bystander. In the past years i've been here, a lot has unfolded, people who you thought you could trust to not be racist or ignorant, turn out to be the opposite. I've had many experiences that made me feel like I was seen as smaller and less significant. Most if not all of these experiences involved a white person.

I am not mad at white people. In fact, I married a man who is white and who has lived all his life in the US. What's different about him though is that he may not understand the struggles of a person of color, but he listens and recognizes that it's there and that his color and his gender has many advantages that i'll never get. He has become an ally to us and has continuously tried to be more helpful to the oppressed. I urge everyone to check their privilege. One way or another we are more privileged than someone else. You have to realize that there is inequality that needs to be changed.

Race and Gender have been used to oppress different types of people and it has to stop. For people who have families, please make sure that the children are aware that the US, or even the world, is a big pool of different cultures and colors and ways of lives and that by understanding that differences exist, there should still be the openness to help one another.

Learn about intersectionality and the importance of it to our existence. It's vital for us to share our experiences to one another and also be a lending ear. Instead of us all arguing who's right or who's wrong, why can't we all just build a future that serves each and every one of us the same? The way I see it is this, everyone needs to be included. There are billions of people all over the world and you can't just expect everyone to be the same.

I know i'm rambling but I urge everyone to think of more than just themselves and look at what you can do to help others and to uplift the oppressed from their situations. I wish that the future will be intersectional but it's truly up to us to make that happen. So steemit friends, can I urge you to fight with us? <3

photo_2019-01-19_18-11-53.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61