Riding green

in #blog6 years ago

Photo 10-06-2018, 19 09 16.jpg

Zoom zoom!

So some time ago I bought a new bike and it was a good bike.
Until it got stolen from a "secure" bike rack with surveillance cameras all around at my apartment complex. Well fuck...

A year passed and the summer had come and I had no enthusiasm for using public transportation, and then one day I saw some rich kid riding around the park with a electric scooter and then it clicked for me - it was the perfect solution!

Why I like the idea of electric kick scooters

So how did I rationalize buying one myself?

  • With the development of new battery technology they have a decent range and a decent speed. (mine has 25-28 km range and goes 25 km/h)
  • Riding green - no fumes.
  • Relatively cheap for what they are
  • No headache about parking
  • You can pretty much bring them anywhere. Just fold them up and carry. No more worrying if someone will break your lock and steal it.
  • Silent.
  • Perfect for commuting to work if you live in a city.
  • You don't get sweaty while riding like you do with a bike.
  • If it starts raining - just fold it and jump into the public transport. A lot less hassle than with a bike.
  • It' s hella fun. Honestly - it's a joy to ride.
  • It's faster than riding a bike unless you try really hard to peddle fast.

So what about downsides? Well there are some...

  • You need to calculate your trips so you don't run out of charge.
  • Charging takes up to 6 hours... sheesh...
  • If you puncture your tire and it' s a bitch to change.
  • The ride can get a little bumpy since your wheel radius is rather small.
  • You kinda have to wear a helmet and you might look like a dork.
  • A bitch to ride on the brick pavement.
  • Without charge it's nearly impossible to ride.

All the way from China

I managed to snatch mine Xiaomi M365 on gearbest for 352 euros which was a hell of a bargain. The shipping period was a hassle tho - it took them nearly 2 months to deliver and most of the time there was no tracking info to calm my nerves. But once it landed in europe it got updated like 2 times a day.

The unpacking and setup was easy enough and after pairing it with my phone I was ready to roll.

... and boy oh boy is it fun!

And turns out I was not the only one who thought that way. Everyone I have given to try it out loves it! Riga is now flooded with these things! When driving to work I usually manage to spot at least one. Last year I didn't see a single one. On the streets when two scooter riders meet at a traffic light we exchange these knowing looks and smiles - yeah it's fun to ride.

Welcome to the future

Well it might not be the floating hover boards "Back to the future" envisioned but it's close enough in the fun factor. I can see how this will only spread in the future as it is a lot more convenient and safer than the 2 wheeler boards with no handlebars.
Kinda looking on buying a second one so me and @TheBunBun can ride together.

So what's your excuse for not getting one?

Sort:  

I was waiting for you to yell WHiiiiiiiIIIIIIIIII when you drove by the camera!

It's very much of a "wheeeeeee" moment :D

Congratulations @beercake! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @beercake! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87