Ahhh, I found Target being sneaky with Christmas Returns to lower cost of refunds

in #blog6 years ago

I figured out, what is very likely intentional, a trick that Target does to cut costs on Christmas returns.

We gave our kids a Nintendo Switch for Christmas this year. On December 23rd, we visited Target to get a couple of last minute gifts. One of those gifts was “Just Dance 2018” for $59.99, for my daughter.

Fast forward to December 30th. I am back at Target, and with my kids this time. I took them shopping with their Christmas money they received. While at Target, I noticed that “Just Dance 2018” is on sale for for $34.99. What?!

Target clearance tag

I Immediately took a picture and sent it to my wife. She said I could ask customer service to do a price adjustment on our target red card. I didn’t even know that was a thing.

“If you find a current lower price within 14 days after purchase, just bring in the proof and we will adjust your payment to the lower price, upon request. - (source)

Fortunately, I still had a receipt, so I got my $25 bucks back! Niceee!

On the way home, I was pondering about the price adjustment. The it occurred to me. When you return something to Target, they will only refund you for the lowest amount that they sold the item for, within the past 30 (maybe 90) days, if do not have a receipt. As example, if purchase “Just Dance 2018” for $59.99, give it to my daughter, and she wants to return it for a different game, she would only receive a refund of $34.99. That is, if she doesn’t have a receipt! Wow! Very interesting.

I also noticed that the X-Box One was on sale, for 30% off. There were other items that were on sale as well. Note that those sales ended on Dec 30th.

I have a theory that most Christmas returns occur after New Years, and that of course Target knows this and does a short sale on items that historically have a record of having a high return rate. So, remember to keep your Christmas receipts!

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up.
X

I follow you brother thank you for upvoting my post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67