The Best Band I've Had Never Heard Of

in #blog6 years ago

We all know how random the YouTube recommendation algorithm can be. But this randomness brings gems like this from time to time:

At first the haircuts, outfits and the strong Australian accent seemed too....well....exotic to me. After listening to the song some more times, I couldn't stop listening to it anymore. I went to Spotify and checked the rest of these guy's work. It is simply magnificent, my favorite one so far is "Mum Stole My Darts":

The Chats bring new energy to punk rock, a genre I thought was dead for a while. Not only that, but they are funny and entertaining as hell. The SOMOKO video clip evokes that time in which YouTube was a place full of amateurs experimenting and producing great content with their friends just for the sake of it. I know I might sound a little nostalgic, but we don't see this level of authenticity on the platform anymore.

The-Chats-2018.png

The band has been growing since the SOMOKO video went viral. They even opened a Queens of Stone Age concert last week in Australia. I hope these kids grow even more, they are irreverent, talented and funny, which are ingredients required to ascend on the internet.

Betel

Sort:  

Haha how good are these guys. The drummer used to stay at my house and skate with my old house mate. He shreds the skateboard!!

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG, what a small world!

Posted using Partiko Android

Crazy huh

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84