You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 06/10/18> The end has been reached…

in #blog6 years ago

Oh, man. You did not catch any luck on that deal. Ground fault on electronics (as opposed to electric) are just plain hard to dx. Basically, my knowledge is what you did. Chase down everything you can check on the power side and then look for a ground fault.

I did a lot of work on a basket lift called Snorkelift. They were a fine company that got sued out of existence in the 80s, but they somehow kept some tech people working up to 2000 when I no longer played with Snorkel. But the best part was the blueprints, and particularly the electrical system. They were 3x6' and there was an as built print for every unit. The company I worked for owned 14 of the things and each had it's own set of prints. You could dx electrical faults (and there were plenty) at a desk before you ever got your screwdriver dirty.

I'm glad you got the van back amongst the living. I'd have a tendency to let the coolant leak slide a while until it gets bad enough that I start seeing a small puddle. But you know what they say about mechanic's vehicles.

Happy Sunday. Thanks for the update.

Sort:  

One would think I didn't catch a break just reading my story but the reality to me is that I did. Having that purge solenoid code show up after I had been working on it for a while was my break.
Plus when I take the new computer back and get my refund and core back I will have a spare perfectly good computer.
I think I know what you meant though, that is was "pretty unlucky"(my words) to have the problem be a ground issue when I was looking for a power problem. If that is what you meant by, "You didn't catch any luck on that deal", I totally agree.
Having schematics that show the whole picture would have surely helped, where I could have seen the "big picture" , the schematic only showed basically half the picture or less in each case since they weren't in PDF, were I could enlarge and shrink as needed to see the it all on one sheet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62613.51
ETH 3019.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93