Trailer Park Slumlord

in #blog5 years ago

The Owners of My Trailer Park

Are real slumlords. When I first moved to Superior in October of 2009, I heard of their last name by December of 2009. "This family is the worst" they said. "There's a few good ones, but man, stay away from them."

For the most part, I stayed away when I heard the name. Until I was put in a financial situation where I had to move into a trailer home to conserve money and live cheaper and get out of the hole I was in. As soon as I heard the name my stomach just turned. "Wonder what I'm getting myself into, this is not going to be good", I thought. If you were from around here, you'd probably be able to guess exactly who I'm talking about but I guess the trailer park owner hint really makes it easy to figure out, but that's besides the point.

I know a thing or two about the laws of attraction, but I have to say when it comes to these people, no amount of positive thinking will make them not be crooks. I was still trying to be positive. Seeing things on the bright side and I needed a place to live even though it had already started bad. Here's what's happened so far since we've moved in.

There was a heavy storm before we moved in that knocked part of the tree in the yard down. It was a mess, and when I moved in they said it was up to me to clean it up and have it removed. I told them "What am I paying lot rent for then?". They argued "If you want to be a home owner, you need to take care of your home". I quickly saw what he did there and responded "If you want to be a land owner though, you have to take care of your land!" Knowing it wasn't up to me, I still cleaned up what I could, when I could. It was a lot and I definitely needed a chainsaw to complete the job. They gave me no guidance and basically said I had to call a tree service. When I didn't get it done fast enough they went ahead and hired some crackhead looking worker they use to clean it up and all they did was move it across the street. After two months the city bulk cleanup happened and they came by with a tree grinder and picked it up for free. They charged me $120 for it. We also discovered that the drainage pipes weren't even connected which makes me wonder how they let us move into a house that had no sewage. What a mess that was. I could swear they are the ones that disconnected it. I was just happy to have a roof, so screw it. but I never paid that $120. I told them no. way.

Besides me dealing with their drama, other tenants were too. Slowly people pulled trailers out. Every time someone pulled a trailer, the lot rent would go up. So from 250 to 275, then to 300, and then 325. This last trailer that was pulled they raised lot rent to a whopping $425 a month with no late fees and the incentive that if you pay on time it's only 325.

Shortly after the tree nonsense, winter came and broke their water meter. Legally, it's their responsibility but they said that it was my responsibility to insulate, saying that I'm the one that broke it. With water spilling everywhere outside and giving me a lakefront, they basically said it was up to me to pay to have it fixed and replaced. I laughed at them and told them "Nope, I'm calling a plumber and telling them to bill you". This was after about a day or two of arguing with them. They took their time to fix it while saying my water bill was going to be high. It was around $800. I paid it. They charged me $150 for the water meter and some out of this world "Excess Waterflow" fee of $50. I was pissed. Nope, not paying that. Not only that but the owner of the trailer park is the one that fixed the water meter but per the city apparently he's not allowed to do any plumbing work on his property. He must have screwed something up in the past.

So with the trees, the water meter, and the bullshit excess waterflow, I'm looking at 120, 150 and 50. So $320 total. Granted it's not that much, it's principles and we've been trying to get them to stop charging that for 2 years now.

Well they finally got a little but more slumlord crooked on us and decided to play with the numbers and just in time to extort an additional $200 from us.

They enacted that $425 lot rent two months ago, and since they claim we owe the $320 in bogus charges, they claim we haven't paid on time in the last two months, therefore making the last two months "not on time" adding an additional $200 "owed", making a total of $520. So with that, they just said I'm late for October, November and December, which isn't even due for another 3 days, to file a "Pay or Vacate" notice. Claiming that the $520 is rent due for October even though I already paid it. This is all happening because I withheld Novembers rent because they won't answer their phone. Petty.

Since renters have little to no rights when it comes to Wisconsin laws, and Wisconsin likes to cater to the landlord, I'm screwed here. It's either pay or leave, and leaving isn't an option because I am still trying to pay off my significant others old electric bill that landed us here in the first place! This drains my account a bit more then I would have liked and after upgrading my computer this puts me back to zero.

These people are shady. This past summer a root clogged one of their pipes and it was coming out my sewage pipe (the one outside, not in my house -- I disconnected it) and they took a week to fix it. It wasn't until I called the city that they did something, and they pretended that the city had the wrong number when I had the city plumber call them. Shady and childish. He reminds me of Milton Waddams from Office Space when he cries about how the city is being mean to him, when he's the slumlord.

At the end of the day I guess it's cheaper to just pay up though....but if and when I move, that water meter is coming with me. There would be a lot of time lost when it comes to my blogging/steemit/streaming so I just don't think it's worth it to fight this even though I think I could win. It's just frustrating, so I'm just gonna play some ARK to ease my mind Will start the stream soon. The worst people tend to get away with things, and if past experiences have taught me anything, assholes never die.

My goal for 2019 is to pay off that electric bill so I can get the heck out of this park. I have a feeling it's not over. From what I can see, they look for any reason to screw over their tenants.

So looking on the bright side, I'm gonna make some steemy steem by sharing how much of a slumlord the owners of my trailer park portray themselves to be, and it's cheaper to give them $500 and have a roof. Sorry kids, christmas might be small this year because it's not like I'm going to return my PC upgrades or anything. That would be crazy. I can't wait to buy a piece of land. Hopefully that happens sooner than later. All I know is that when people do me wrong, karma gets'em. So they'll get theirs. Come to think of it, that may even affect me negatively since I live on their land though. I guess we'll see!

Happy Steeming!

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

So sorry to hear about all the difficulties you’re experiencing! At least you got a Steemit post out of it 😉 maybe you should dedicate a whole series to them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey thanks I'm glad you liked it! You've got a good idea there -- A Series is Definitely due!! Thanks for the great idea! I've realized when things happen to me, just blog about it. Not only does it make me feel better, but getting some steem is a big plus! Now the blockchain knows about'em.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 390 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@trufflepig I’ve been disappointed in a few of your choices, but this was a good one!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Huh? Seems like I already voted on this post, thanks for calling anyway!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95