Black Mirror (Season 1) Review

in #blog6 years ago

I've decided to re-watch Black Mirror and document my thoughts on each episode both in anticipation of a fifth season and just as a way to fill the empty void in my life instead of killing myself. Be warned there are probably going to be spoilers in this so if you haven't watched the first season of Black Mirror yet, you know fuck it just read it any way, in fact you know what, don't! Watch it first and then come back and read this, fuck it just read it, or don't!

Episode 1 ''The National Anthem''

This episode was released almost four years before we found out that David Cameron put his cock in a pig's mouth, I just thought that was worth mentioning, he didn't do it to save a princess either! This was a great episode and it definitely sets the tone for this depressing series! I loved the tension throughout the episode, Rory Kinnear's performances was excellent and there's a real sense of urgency throughout, it's hard not to sympathise with the guy!

I loved the complete switch in tone when the PM walks into that studio and sees the pig as well, it goes from absurd and almost comedic to horrific and depressingly sad. The journalist sending pictures of her tits to that guy for info didn't really seem necessary though, I don't think that or her story as a whole needed to be included at all. I also don't quite buy into the PM's home secretary pushing for him to fuck this pig, he needs to fire that woman after this.

If I was the PM in this situation I would have definitely not gone through with this, definitely not! If she dies, she dies. I'd have made a public announcement condemning this kidnapper and refusing to comply with his ridiculous demands and I'd have assured the public we're working on bringing him to justice and returning the princess to safety, end of fucking story! All in all though a great episode! Well written and well directed with great performances. 8/10.

Episode 2 ''15 Million Merits''

This is probably one of if not my favourite Black Mirror episode of them all! It's very well written and directed with fairly simple yet extremely effective cinematography that brings this world to life and the performances, especially that of Daniel Kaluuya, were fantastic! It's an extremely impactful episode both emotionally and as a metaphorical representation of a materialistic society based on consumerism, 15 Million Merits is a masterpiece!

The first ten minutes or so are spent following Bing around as he performs mundane tasks and there's very little dialogue but it's gripping, Daniel Kaluuya's an excellent actor and there's a lot in the eyes with this role, he's able to convey so much with just a look. When he does finally start speaking it's like coming up for air, it felt authentic and I can see why he was cast in Get Out, there's a comedic timing to his delivery of dialogue and it's easy to connect with him.

I absolutely loved the ending, it's so anticlimactic after Bing's suicidal truth rant and you're right there with him in his surprise at being offered his own show, it's so bittersweet and empty but extremely accurate to society in regard to how these sort of things work, media, fame, acceptance etc. Bashy did a decent job as well, I wish we'd had a chance to see that cackling moron get what he deserved but unfortunately though that's not the world we live in! 9/10.

Episode 3 ''The Entire History of You''

I love the premise in this episode, the idea of having every waking moment of your life recorded and available to be viewed at any time through a chip implanted directly in your head, what a nightmare that would be! I can understand the appeal I suppose but it's not worth the complete sacrifice of privacy it would cost to do it and although Liam turned out to be right about his wife the whole thing would have probably driven him mad either way.

I wasn't a huge fan of Jodie Whittaker as Liam's wife, there's nothing likeable about her even before we find out she's been cheating, I think if there was anything redeemable about her as a character at all or any sort of reason to be invested in their relationship then the revelation at the end would have been more impactful. It's obvious from the start that she's lying as well which also takes some of the impact away, I was at no point invested in them as a couple.

I'm not sure what we're supposed to take from that woman who'd had her grain gouged out or why she'd sleep with Jonas? I thought she represented someone free from these shackles but maybe she just missed it and was depressed, she must have been! All in this was another great episode but 15 Million Merits is a tough act to follow, that should have been the closing episode, you know it's British when there's only three episodes in a season! 7.5/10.

Summary

I'll see you again for my review/rant/reaction, whatever this is, for the second season and I'll be doing the same for the third and fourth seasons as well, and the Christmas Special! All in all I really enjoyed all three of these episodes and I consider 15 Million Merits possibly the best Black Mirror episode of them all, this is my second time through so I'll let you know if that changes! I'm gonna give the first season of Black Mirror 8.5/10, makes me proud to be British!

What did you think of Black Mirror - Season 1?

Sort:  

I recently watched all Black mirror series, thought provoking and sometimes uncomfortable to watch, yet always ringing with that kind of dystopian possible truth that makes you shiver more than horror.

Congratulations @bloodycritique! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68068.52
ETH 3873.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64