UFC 225 - The Aftermath.

in #blog6 years ago

UFC 225 came to a close early last Sunday morning here in the UK and our questions were all answered, it was a great card and an amazing main event! That Whittaker/Romero fight was amazing, but it ended on controversy which was a shame, concerning the 10-8 in that final round, I definitely think it should have been but fuck the scorecards and the whole scoring system, controversy shouldn't be allowed, it should be down to an exact science with no discrepancy at all! As far as Whittaker winning, I didn't mind at all, I haven't rewatched any of the fights yet but I felt like it was 3 rounds to 2 for Whittaker, it was so close though I wouldn't have complained either way, maybe it should have been a draw.

Colby Covington had a very dominant win over Dos Anjos which everyone in MMA's just seething over! I don't like Colby but he isn't meant to be liked, I love how much he's been able to get under everyone's skin though, I was actually rooting for him in this fight because I want him to fight someone who's going to throw some verbal abuse back at him before the fight, you know, to make the win more sweet! As the Interim champ his next opponent will be Tyron Woodley and if you watched his interview on The MMA Hour yesterday, it's fucking on! Tyron wants blood and he's emotionally invested in this shit, I cannot wait to see that fight! I kind of want Colby to win against him as well because I'm English and I want Darren Till to be the hero who finally shuts Colby up!

It looks like Whittaker's next fight is between Chris Weidman and Kelvin Gastalum and I imagine Romero will move up to Light Heavyweight, Cormier suggested Alexander Gustafsson as a potential opponent and I'm not against that at all! Holly Holm had a dominant victory over Megan Anderson in what was more of a technical fight than an entertaining one. Tai ''drinks spit out of shoes'' Tuivasa beat Andrei ''that's disgusting'' Arlovski via decision, this was the only fight on the card where I felt like the other guy won, it was definitely close but I would have given this to Arlovski, it was a great fight though, Tuivasa's dangerous in those flurries.

CM Punk made it through three rounds earning himself a decision loss to Mike Jackson, the CM Punk thing's definitely dead after this and according to an extremely angry Dana White at the press conferences so is Mike Jackson's career in the UFC. Mike Jackson seems like an idiot and he definitely didn't leave me wanting more of him after this fight but I disagree with Dana White putting his feelings out there like that, what a dickhead move, however, it's Dana White, he's a dickhead. But, yeah, Mike Jackson's approach and the result of that fight were pretty embarrassing, more so for him than Punk!

All in all this was a pretty entertaining card, it wasn't the best card in the world but it was solid and that main event was fucking awesome! Joe Rogan suggested a rubber match which doesn't really make sense given that Whittaker's 2-0 against Romero but I'd love to see them fight for a third time either way, I hope it happens! Covington v Woodly is going to be epic based on the tension between them alone, I give that fight to Woodley but you never know! I think Holly Holm should fight Amanda Nunes next and I'd like to see Tai Tuivasa fight the winner of Francis Ngannou v Derrick Lewis who fight next month on UFC 226, that's actually my most anticipated card of the year! I'll see you there!

What did you think about UFC 225, what are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments and I'll see you for the next one!

Sort:  

I cant wait for more!

UFC 226 looks to be even better!

RDA disappointed me. Whittaker vs Romero an instant classic. Gastelum should definitely get the next shot, he defeated former champ Bisping and a top 5 guy Jacare. Weidman is 1-3 in his last 4 so I think he should get a couple of more wins before getting a shot at the title.

I think RDA disappointed everyone, Colby's game plan was pretty simple as well, pressure flurry pushing him into the cage, pressure him in the clinch, go for the take down, he did that for 25 minutes and RDA didn't have an answer for it at all! 100% Whittaker/Romero 2 was a classic, even better than their first fight. Weidman beat Gastalum though so I wouldn't mind him getting the shot, either way I don't see either of them beating Whittaker.

I agree with what you said about the RDA fight. I disagree with what you said about Whittaker. He seemed pretty beatable to me against Romero (in both fights) and he did get KOed by Wonderboy 4 years ago. Gastelum is a very dangerous fighter for anyone especially in the first two rounds so I wouldn't be surprised if he pulls it off and if Weidman can go back the way he was few years ago that might be another long night for Whittaker.

Fair enough, my money's still on Whittaker though Lol, I'd love to watch him fight both of them, no doubt they'd be great fights either way!

Yeah. Can't wait to see those fights

i am very interested about this game,

Do you even know where you are?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97