You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A VERY dark theory about Israel...Are useful idiots helping in the final solution?

in #blog5 years ago

I don't have time to write as much as I could but there's one thing that wasn't covered properly in @apshamilton 's answer.

The whole project of 'the state of Israel' has always seemed, to me, to be too contrived to ever be wholesome, if you see what I mean.

This may be because Judaism isn't within you and, possibly, because even though I'm sure you're capable of believing you understand the influence of faith on others who have it, I doubt you can fully understand it.

Even someone like me who wasn't brought up in a strictly religious Jewish household, but was brought up with strong sense of Jewish tradition and family, felt something strange and inexplicable the first time I visited Israel when I was around 12. Later when I ended up doing business in Israel and eventually meeting and marrying my wife here, even if we then moved to London, Israel quickly felt more like my home and my place than London where I had lived since I was 18 months old.

You can say I was manipulated to believe this but I can't give you a strong rational reason why, despite being functionally illiterate, this place felt like home and feels more like home and definitely feels like a better place to raise Jewish kids.

The best reasoned explanation I have is the Indigenous identity one and the best short explanation is the one my friend Ryan Bellerose wrote.

Sort:  

This may be because Judaism isn't within you and, possibly, because even though I'm sure you're capable of believing you understand the influence of faith on others who have it, I doubt you can fully understand it.

I never claimed to understand, or even believed I was capable I understood.
(good to see that you're maintaining that 'non condescending approach' though...lol)

I never brought religion into this for one moment.
I was extolling a theory base d on logic and historical happenings.

You can say I was manipulated to believe this but I can't give you a strong rational reason why, despite being functionally illiterate, this place felt like home and feels more like home and definitely feels like a better place to raise Jewish kids.

I understand how you can feel it, and it's can be very real - but that has nothing t do with my theory, except to possibly illustrate the manipulation working if my theory was correct. I'm dealing in rationality.

I'm not from Ireland - I'm a Brit - but I feel more 'spiritually at home' over there, than I've ever done in the UK - so I do understand the emotional feelings you describe - and the reality of it.
That doesn't make it relevant to my theory, as such.

(You do love a story, don't ya? lol)

The best reasoned explanation I have is the Indigenous identity one and the best short explanation is the one my friend Ryan Bellerose wrote.

Any argument based on ownership without property rights are empty from the off... (I'm not discounting your feelings about the country, btw, I understand) ..

.... from a purely philosophical logical reality ....
....there are _no_indigenous rights, just as there are no human rights... there are only property rights.

.... from a purely philosophical logical reality ....
....there are _no_indigenous rights, just as there are no human rights... there are only property rights.

What's the oldest reported purchase of land in human history?

What's the oldest reported purchase of land in human history?

Property rights start with person owning themselves, and works out from there. (then they own their labor and so forth..)

What's the oldest reported purchase of land in human history?

Not relevant to the philosophical question of property rights but...
The Sumerians - as far as I'm aware.
The priests were the landowners predominantly.
4,000 -3000 BC
(a long while before the arrival of the Jewish contingent in that area.)

I presume you asked it knowing thinking the answer would be 'a Jewish one'...?

I would be interested to be proved wrong but I’ve not been able to find this myself or by asking knowledgable people however the oldest properly documented actual record of a sale of property including details of negotiations and prices is the purchase of a cave in Hebron by Abraham for the burial of his wife.

Please find me an earlier detailed record of sale (not just statement that people owned land) because I too have trouble believing this is the first.

Certainly, for Jews, the story of coming out of slavery in Egypt is a huge part of our identity as moving from slavery to freedom. I also believe this concept came out of Judaism and into the west via Christianity.

...you don't need a record of sale to own property. lol

Do you have a record of sale to prove you own yourself?

You misunderstand the l concept of property, if so..

Any argument based on ownership without property rights are empty from the off... (I'm not discounting your feelings about the country, btw, I understand) ..

.... from a purely philosophical logical reality ....
....there are _no_indigenous rights, just as there are no human rights... there are only property rights.

What is the world’s earliest recorded land transaction?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89