11 free apps that’ll turn your iPhone into a work slaying machine

in #blog6 years ago

pexels-photo-887751.jpeg

Last week, I wrote about how I’m learning to write from my phone, and how its saving my freelance content marketing business.

Now, I wanted to share a few of the apps that I’m using to make my phone just as effective if not more so than my desktop.

Grammarly

For starters, writing from my phone makes typos not only more likely but a bit harder to catch too!

I realized very quickly that it would be an issue and luckily Grammarly offered a solution. Their app works as a keyboard for the iPhone, and while it’s not perfect, it is a hell of a lot better than the iPhones standard autocorrect.

Bear

Bear is a notes app, but the minimal interface and quick formatting make it perfect for writing even longer-form blog posts!

I first downloaded it back in the day when I was looking for a notes app that worked with my Apple Watch, but I can’t imagine there’s a better looking or working app for writing my blog posts!

MinimaList

One of the more difficult parts of switching to a mobile-first work style was keeping track of my tasks.
I’d always just write things down in a notepad on my desk, and while I’ve tried many task management apps and to do lists, none has the simplicity and effectiveness of my notebook.

But, luckily I stumbled upon MinimaList. It’s perfect for me as it feels just as minimal and effective as my notebook, but with the added functionality of repeating tasks and reminders.

Slack

Communication is a big deal in freelancing. Clients don’t want to wait to receive a response, they want it right away.

That means I must stay connected at all times. Which is why Slack’s mobile app is a must-have for any freelancer, even if they are primarily working from an office.

Toggl

I don’t always charge hourly, but a few of my clients do pay me by the hour and for them, I track with Toggl. Feel free to replace this with your own time tracking app of choice.

Pixabay

Thank the lord for copyright free images. Every blog post should be accompanied by at least one image and the Pixabay app allows me to find free images to use without heading over to my desktop.

Brave browser

One of the biggest time drains for me is a slow browser. You may not realize it but safari and chrome have a tendency to be pretty slow. It’s not their fault either, it’s the pop-up ads and trackers that really slow you down.

I switched to brave on my desktop and have never gone back. The experience on the phone is largely similar with tons of time saved!

iPhone Default Apps

The next apps I use are just a few of iPhones default apps. I see no need to switch them at the current time and they are more than capable of handling what I throw their way.

Contacts

I use this as a pseudo-CRM. I basically just store customer data here.

Mail

Simple and straightforward. Not much more to say here.

Calculator

Again a straightforward app. I use it to do quick maffs.

Calendar

The last iOS app I use is the calendar app. I mostly keep track of meetings through it, but I’m looking to do more to organize life, but haven’t yet.

Other apps

Then, of course, your financial and social media apps of choice. For me this category includes Twitter, Facebook Page Manager, Medium, and eSteem (app for the Steem blockchain based Social Media Network).

What apps do you use?

Let me know by replying below: what apps do you use to be more productive?

Sort:  

This is the most useful post I have come across yet. I was just thinking about my need for a new browser.
Thank you very much!

Glad it was useful!

I really enjoy the brave browser both on desktop and mobile - highly recommend it. I've got chrome on my desktop as well which I use to chrome cast movies to our TV, and it amazes me just how slow chrome is when compared to Brave!

Thanks for the follow, comment, reblog and upvote. Much appreciated!

Excellent collection of cool applications. It seems that everything is simple, but not all people knew all these applications. I, for example, first heard about pixabay. Good luck to you and love.

Yup - I was surprised at just how capable my phone is at doing most work tasks. Both the hardware and the software for smartphones has greatly improved and I could see more and more people beginning to work from smart phones in the coming years!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This post which has a payout in excess of $50.00 has utlized one or more bidbots.

rocky1 payout in the amount of $79.43 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform.

Please consider the long term effect on our platform before using bidbots!

You can read more about how bidbots are affecting our platform here.

This comment is by no means a judgement of your work @capnsostre, only an earnest appeal that we might all work together to build a great platform by letting the community curate our work and not bidbots.

@Transparencybot is a non-profit initiative, please consider supporting it by upvoting this comment.

If you would like to delegate direclty to @tranparencybot you can do so by clicking on the following links. You can remove your delegation at anytime.
50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP 5000SP.

thanks, happy today

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82