Explaining crypto to newbies has become my life, and I don't mind it.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Here we are Steemfam, I skipped the last few days. Want an excuse? nah me either.

#anhouraday is a great thing to be doing and I did do it, but I am still torn between consistency and quality and I decided not to post - well done, you failed.


A quick update..

Monday marked the official second week of my new job, it's going great and I'll get to that later.

On the Friday night before, I was lucky enough to have my closest work friends take me out, which was a nice send off - some are really lovely people and have been an incredible help to me in processing my life and pushing me to do more of what I love.

Despite my love for them, we have very different ambitions - they're after the standard 21st century western life - buy a house, do it up, pay the house off, buy tech gadgets, eat fast food. They actually talked about this and I really realise how different I am, and my ambitions, at least for now - I understand being younger gives you more room to have more ambition, but we are just very different.

And now, I'm working exactly in a space that I wanted to be in.

I asked the universe for it, and it's happened - I'm creating content and attracting users into a platform that aims to bring cryptocurrency to the masses. And decentralising things is what I believe will enable the best of us to do more of what we love.

For the company, I'm doing a lot of leg work and to motivate myself through this I'm having to trust that their deep intentions are good and feel grateful that I'm given the opportunity to do it - despite being massively underpaid (for now).

For example, the start of my work journal today (not a joke)
image.png

It's quite interesting, I've been wanting to educate people on crypto digitally for what feels like a long time and now I've gotten a kick up the ass to do it in the form of this job and this company.

Explaining crypto to newbs.

People have asked me to explain cryptocurrency so much to them and I love the challenge. The first thing I look to explain is what a blockchain is, and how a cryptocurrency facilitates the exchange of value, much like we use $. Followed by the fact that each cryptocurrency has a community which will have a project or projects - I'm super quick to distinguish the fact that the cryptocurrency market is one thing, and the actual project space is another.

Most people want the same thing from a cryptocurrency discussion, they want black and white answers on things that can't be answered in black and white. These conversations are mostly enjoyable for me as I get the opportunity to have them question their beliefs about money and other things; when you explain that governance, consensus and the system itself is adaptive to the people involved, some see that things can be different from how they are and possible scenarios might start to form.

The, "but I'm just one person," excuse gets completely hammered when a system is visibly influenced by their behaviour.

As much as I love the idea of decentralisation and what it can do for us, it's because I believe we are better off thinking for ourselves in a more local sense than trusting in traditional systems that are distant. And although traditional systems could change, people aren't aware of the damage they currently do, and how backwards they can be..

Believing in value, not profit.

Backwards in the sense that current systems favour capitalism above sustainability - How it leads people to believe that money is value.

But 'value' has been completely skewed by the need for businesses to profit. Things have been structured of course to bring structure, but the result is strangling creativity out of us. Our intuition, is undoubtedly conditioned by these infrastructural and political restrictions to conform to what's safe, despite how dumb it really is.

Capitalists can get really confused by cryptocurrency driven platforms, where systems are built to incentivise long term value over short-term profit. They've been trained to with-hold they're knowledge because if they don't make the most of it for themselves, they won't make any money. Yet it's in the sharing of what we know and through collaboration with each other that we end up creating the reality we all really want.

With cryptocurrency driven platforms, each with different ways to achieve consensus, we can indulge in the platforms that incentivise what we believe to be valuable.

I understand the perspective needing to generate money to live, no shit we do; and I'm not saying we should all shift to decentralised technologies, they aren't here yet, but they will be.

Really, we don't know what we don't know. I'm not a blockchain developer, I can't really tell what's going on in project spaces, so what do I know? I'm just out here observing and listening and trusting in those that are working hard at it. I have a belief that stems from experience in that traditional infrastructure doesn't support our best selves. It incentivises us to act lesser than we could and since we are at least somewhat products of our environments and are absolutely influenced by the systems which govern our lives, we are being less for each other than we can be.

We all have different roles to play within the economies and social dynamics we find ourselves in; and if we can appreciate what each of us has to offer, we'll arrive at a destination that caters to more to our best selves and fulfils us in a richer way.


Yep, a bit of a rant post sprinkled with hype-sounding beliefs - but it's all true and real and I thank you a lot for reading.

If you'd like to help inspire my future posts here, share your thoughts, beliefs and opinions on what you took from this, I'd love to hear from you.

Sort:  

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @carpet.duck

Thx for your amazing comment in my post related to resteeming bots.

Did you abandon steemit?

Just checked your profile just to realize that we seem to share a number of interests :)

In particular that we both share a similar passion towards cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology :)

Thx for that quite informative post. Keep up with creating interesting content.
I know it's hard at the beginning to build solid follower base. But just don't give up. Steemits needs solid content builders.

Cheers
Piotr

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

hi @carpet.duck

It has been a while since I've hear from you so I decided to check your blog and see if you're still around.

I've noticed that you're not very active lately. having a break? or did you give up on Steemit? (hope not)

enjoy your weekend buddy
Yours, Piotr

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65