Russian banya and cold bath in winter

in #blog6 years ago

Today the real winter arrived in Edinburgh.


As far as I know, it is the first such winter with so much snow for many years. The first time is a red alert in a large part of the country.
Oh well. For me, it's a normal winter, but the Scots are not used to it. In total, there is nothing to be surprised. This is an unprecedented phenomenon in this country.

sauna.jpg

Therefore, today the topic is somewhat related to winter and more to cold in general. It reminded me of the real winter and my family place. When I was younger I often went to a sauna with older friends and I liked it very much. Then it became a tradition and as soon as the snow fell, we went to the sauna every two weeks. Sometimes it was spontaneous trips in 4 or 5 people, and sometimes even parties for about 20 people.

We always tried to warm up the sauna to the max and sit as long as possible, usually about 15 minutes. Later, we went into the cold river or cut a hole in the ice and jumped into the lake under ice. Today, some of these ideas seem crazy. But those times it was just normal then.

It was called a Russian banya.

I really recommend such relaxation to anyone. Try it for once, it is an amazing experience and you will really want to do it again. Such a sauna and following it a bath brings a lot of health benefits, but unfortunately, you can easily overdo it.
So be responsible.

sauna1.jpg

Unfortunately, I can only visit a real sauna when I visit a family site. And it must be winter. But I think I will be looking for something in my are soon or just try to go for a bath in a sea without sauna. Time will show.

Let me know if you've ever tried this kind of relaxation in a sauna or something similar? Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62