Driving for Fedex Ground: What is it Really Like?

in #blog6 years ago

FedEx-ground-truck.jpg

About a year and a half ago, I decided to get my Class E license, quit my job at the United States Postal Service, and go get a job as a delivery driver for FedEx Ground. Since then, there have been many ups and downs, surprises, and frustrations that have came along with the job.

I'm NOT Technically a FedEx Employee

Wait what? But, but, but... You just said you started working there?! A little known fact to most people (myself included before I began) is that all delivery drivers for FedEx Ground are actually subcontracted workers. I drive a FedEx vehicle, wear a FedEx uniform, and comply with the rules of FedEx. But I am not actually employed by the company itself. Each delivery terminal has a collection of contractors who have purchased routes and supplied their own vehicles to stamp with the classic FedEx logo. So even though I am a driver for FedEx, I actually work for a private company owned by my particular contractor. Not confusing at all right?

This small detail can lead to tons of confusion and miscommunication, as the guidelines required by FedEx are not always clearly expressed from your contractor to you. You can literally be breaking the rules of the company without even knowing these rules exist. Another unfortunate side effect of this system is the lack of benefits that come from being employed by a small, private business. Though FedEx has many perks, none of them trickle down to the contractors to extend to the drivers employed there. To put it simply: we get screwed into operating under the FedEx logo with none of the actual benefits one would assume would come with working for such a high-level company.

So What is So Appealing About this Job Then?

Honestly, after being here for over a year, I am finding myself less and less impressed as time goes on. In the beginning, however, it seemed like a really great investment of my time. As an entry level employee, with no driving experience at all, I was able to obtain my Class E license (taking a simple multiple choice test) and begin working within a few weeks. And for having absolutely no previous skills, a job that starts off around 30k/year is very tempting.

As far as my actual day to day activities are concerned, this job is relatively easy to get the hang of. Look at the box, find the address, deliver box to address. Simple formula that is pretty hard to mess up. One of my favorite things about my actual work day is that I am out on my own all day, working at whatever pace I choose. As a salary employee (pros and cons), I have the freedom to essentially make my own hours, depending on the workload and the effort I put forth that day. Feeling tired? Slow down, take your time, and maybe be out a little later in the day. Feeling energized? Bust ass, get finished early and enjoy the rest of your evening. The freedom of being in control, for the most part, of my day is definitely a positive incentive for me.

So What About the Negative Aspects of the Job?

There are plenty of those also. To start, every day is basically a roll of the dice on what your workload will look like. I may come in to find my truck mostly empty, with only 70 packages to deliver. Other days I show up to work to find packages stacked to the ceiling and overflowing out the back. The unpredictable nature of the job is definitely one of my least favorite factors to deal with on a weekly basis and can sometimes cause anxiety while I'm on my way to work.

On top of the workload sometimes being unmanageable, you are also at the mercy of the weather. Rain? Snow? Extreme heat? Nothing is off limits, and the orders continue coming in regardless of what the conditions are outside. On beautiful days, the job can seem perfect. Add a little bit of rain and snow though, and things suddenly seem a lot worse, and your days get a lot longer.

Another downfall of the job, as I mentioned earlier, is the lack of affiliation from FedEx. Depending on the size and organization of your particular contractor, there are no guarantees in pay, hours, workload, or even raises. Fortunately, I hit the jackpot and found someone to work for who is very fair and does well to ensure the employees are cared for. I have heard about many drivers though who are not so lucky, and frequently work 50+ hours per week for less money than I make. Once again, this is a big roll of the dice and you're not always the winner.

So What's Next?

I don't know. I have been considering many other options but can't seem to pinpoint exactly what I want to do yet. I DO know that this is not the place for me to spend a considerable amount of my life though. Having no retirement, no insurance, and slow growth, this job doesn't have a whole lot of future appeal for me. At the time of my quitting USPS, it was a perfect stepping stone to something new, but I think my time here is likely coming to an end soon. For anyone looking for something new and maybe not having a particular direction, like I was at the time, I would highly recommend a job here. For an entry level position to start out at 30k is pretty amazing, especially for the quick learning curve involved.

If you've read this far, thank you for checking this out! If anyone has any questions, feel free to reach out to me and I'll answer them as honestly as possible. It's getting late and tomorrow is another work day, so I will leave it at this. Much love guys!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! This kind of real life writing is exactly the kind of stuff I love reading. It’s so fascinating to me to learn about other people’s lives.

I was a driver helper for UPS one year, so I recognized a little of what you’re talking about. Crazy to think that you’re not an actual FedEx employee even though you wear the uniform!

As far as questions go, I’d want to know if you ever saw someone steal a package. And do you ever worry about getting robbed? Do you ever get in trouble if someone swipes the package off a porch after you leave?

Thanks again for sharing!

I've never actually witnessed it but just last week one of the packages that i delivered was stolen from a porch.. Luckily our scanners are GPS tracked to the exact coordinates of delivery so there was proof that I left it at the house.. No worry of getting in trouble on my part unless i leave it at an apartment without permission from the customer and then it gets stolen..

Hmmm...they put Kent Hovind in jail for claiming his employees were all sub-contractors and not withholding their taxes (i.e. acting as the collection agent for the I.R.S.) Guess it depends on how big you are, and whether or not you are threatening the whole evolution-based "science" world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69053.05
ETH 3802.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69