Exterior Shutters

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


                                                DIY Exterior Shutters

We made craftsman wood shutters for our house.  I think it adds some appeal to the house. It was dull and boring without any shutters. We made our shutters because it was a fraction of the cost of buying new shutters. 

Here is the house before we added shutters.  

We made our shutters out of 1 x 4and 1x6  pressure treated wood.  The shutters size we used were 15 inches wide, and then the height of our windows.  When making shutters, the shutters need to be flush top and bottom with the window. There is many tutorials how to make exterior shutters.  Here is a link on how to make craftsman shutters  http://blog.homedepot.com/diy-craftsman-exterior-shutters

Here is a photo of us making our shutters.  We used a 1x4 in the middle of the base of the shutter and then 1x6's on the outer part of the base.  

We used 1x2's to trim out the shutter.

 

Here is the shutter finished. 

 

You can paint or stain the shutters.  I was thinking about staining the shutters, and I did try it.  I did not like the look of the stained shutters for this house.  I decided to go with a dark gray color.  

 

Here is the shutters finished.  I added some decorative hardware on the shutters.  I purchased my decorative hardware at exterior solutions.   

I hope you enjoyed my post. If you like my posts, you can follow me @christir. Thank you for reading my posts. 



 







Sort:  

I love those shutter and the hardware ❤️
Thank you for the post!

Thank you

Those are beautiful! Nothing quite like the satisfaction of making something yourself.

Yes, it was fun making them. It is a project that you can get done in one day, which is very nice. It is also cheaper than buying them, and it is a good feeling being able to save money. Thank you for your comment. I am so glad you liked them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59