Why DIY?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


source

To be honest I don’t really do a lot of DIY’s. To others it may seem like a lot but that’s just because they don’t do any! It’s really weird how little things we do in the beginning end up affecting us in a huge way.

My journey started more than two and a half years ago simply by me looking for natural remedies for my dog’s really bad skin condition. (By the way I just have to tell you that Oreo was a black English Cocker Spaniel. He was the gentlest and most loving dog with the best temperament). Even then I didn’t like the chemicals in dog shampoos so I started what I do best, googling! I found recipes for simple homemade shampoos using baby shampoo and stumbled upon homemade soap made from scratch!

You know how when you’re watching a YouTube video and other related videos appear? Well, they led me to homemade deodorant, mosquito repellant, cleaning products, etc., and finally to minimalism and zero-waste lifestyle! Yay to

source

Making your own health care and hygiene products is so awesome. First of all you get to choose all the ingredients so there’s nothing harmful in them. No parabens, no SLS, no artificial fragrances. You can custom make anything by adding herbs and essential oils you like, or by omitting ingredients that you’re allergic to! Second of all there is no or minimal packaging so you don’t contribute to land fills! Minimal because you still have to use some kind of container for things like deodorant and toothpaste but they are reused until they’re done.
501F2B22-E73A-49F4-92C7-2B354842BB94.jpeg
some of my homemade products

Sad to say after all this time what I’ve been doing hasn’t really caught on with family members. They’re still using commercial products that may contain harmful ingredients. I have replaced all commercial products which I can make myself and am very happy with them.

I have to bring one thing to your attention. Something that’s labelled “organic” isn’t necessarily good. You have to go through the ingredients carefully. They might use organic plants but they also use parabens and unnecessary chemicals. So don’t be fooled by that wonderful word!

I have to say the one person who is most supportive and will try anything I make is @reconstitution. He has been using my soap since day one and says the toothpaste i recently gave him is better than the commercial ones! 😁 And he was so impressed and excited when he saw my washable tissues he asked me how he could use them in his office. He and I are also trying what they call “family cloth” which you use in the toilet. Come on! Don’t say “yuk”! Give us a chance! We use a handheld bidet before patting ourselves dry 😉. The westerners who use family cloths don’t have handheld bidets! 💩😷🤮

We have to see the bigger picture. While some of you may think it’s disgusting think of how many trees we’re saving. And by saving these trees 👇🏻
0E6B7263-36B8-4E83-8DAF-E55515F63BEE.jpeg
source

we save animals 👇🏻
62AB5697-1515-4510-A3C6-2DEC3E4A5C9E.jpeg
source
source
source
source

our planet 👇🏻
0158BC7C-1DFB-4709-8B11-F2459CE0E1F5.jpeg
source
and ourselves👇🏻
385FF4A1-3B66-4201-9036-6F65E10BE11C.jpeg
source

Doing it yourself may seem daunting at first but once you get the hang of it it’s easy peasy. You don’t have to make everything, just the simpler ones. Give it a try. You just might get hooked! I hope to help you get started with a Dlive DIY on making washable tissues soon. It’s the easiest DIY and doesn’t cost anything! Sounds good? I just need to learn how to operate Dlive through my mobile first. Wait ah? 😅

Sort:  

Waah, soo personal. You go announcing things to the world, ahhh! :P :P

I'll try anything except your face products, yeah! ":D

Looking forward to your DLive video! :)

If you want people to jump on board you gotta let them know what’s involved and how it’s done 😉

Great post, mum! I still find it to be gross but I understand the concept and the idea :) Also looking forward to your videos very much!

Waiting for you to teach me how to do it 😉

True. When you have a video ready la. Preferably before we leave for Japan.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00