Peach Cobbler

in #blog5 years ago

For some reason, I had a craving for peaches. I searched for a recipe on the internet, and found this really quick and easy way to doll them up! There are all sorts of recipes for cobbler out there, and this is one of the most simpler ones, but just as delicious as any other. I think next time I might try some other combination of fruit, but the peaches this time around were an absolutely satisfying tradition.

  • 3 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 (29 ounce) can sliced peaches
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 dash of cinnamon
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place butter bottom of a 2-quart glass baking dish, and set on middle rack of oven to melt while preheating. Meanwhile, drain the peaches, reserving 1/4 cup of juice from can. Bring the peaches and juice to a boil in a medium saucepan. In a mixing bowl, combine sugar, flour, milk, baking powder and salt. Mix until combined. Remove baking dish from oven, pour cake batter over melted butter. Spoon hot peaches over cake batter, then sprinkle brown sugar over the top. Bake for 25 minutes or until cake tests done. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream if desired!

credit

I don't have a glass baking dish, although it was on my Christmas wish list. I used a pie pan instead, which is probably a bit smaller and less shallow than suggested, but it still worked great. Boiling the peaches was also a great tip because it got them soft and juicy before the baking, so definitely don't miss that step.

When I first looked at the recipe, I wasn't sure about putting the peaches on top of the batter, but somehow by the end of the baking time, the batter rose and tucked them neatly inside the cake! I was a little worried about how much sugar was going into the batter as well, and it did come out quite sweet. That is OK by me, but I think next time I will use a little bit less of a full cup of sugar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97