How is Steem useful for you?

in #blog8 years ago

I know about the theoretical usefulness of #Steem. Censorship-resistant publishing is a great tool and important for freedom and democracy. But obviously, that's not how Steem is being used.

I know about the monetary #usefulness. People simply make some extra money with Steem, or they use it for funding their projects. But that's not what I mean by "useful". A money-redistribution machine is only useful when you're on the receiving end.

What about the practical usefulness as a means of communication? Do you actually browse through posts, looking for information? Do you read trending posts like you would read a daily newspaper? Do you discuss stuff with people?

Maybe it's just that I'm too old or something. I started using the internet when the world wide web didn't exist. We had mailing lists back then, or usenet news. I've somehow managed to accept web-based forums as useful these days, acknowledging that if you don't adapt to change you're left behind. But Steem isn't really useful as a #discussion forum, for example you can only comment 6 levels deep or so, and tree-structured comments aren't terribly readable either.

I'm not a social media type. I won't touch Facebook and the likes with a long pole. I do have a twitter account, and I have an account at xing.com for business purposes, but I haven't checked either for about two months, because of the lousy signal-to-noise ratio. I don't read blogs either, because I don't care about other people's cats or whatever bloggers post about.

Possibly the latter is what Steem is about. So, to me Steem has a SNR of near zero. Does anyone find it useful to see dozens of "funny" videos being advertised? Where's the usefulness in seeing the same "spot the cat" picture posted three times within an hour by different people? Does anyone care about the cat of some pseudonymous identity they've never heard of?

What do you find useful in Steem?

Sort:  

I am enjoying steemit but not to the extent some are as my numbers don't look so good, would enjoy it a lot more If I could write a master piece lol I do still spend time n Facebook but not as much as I did

So are you here for the money, or do you actually enjoy posts from other people, or their response to your own posts?

No not here for the money as you can tell from my recent posts, I enjoy reading and commenting. I love to read what others think

Hi @cyrano.witness, I don't think I will ever re-steem anything since I think our own blog front page should be for just original blog posts and re-steems should have their own tab and be relegated behind the blogs front page. I also, enjoy the anonymity it provides and how it is supposed to be curated only by our peers. I think that if a post is upvoted on Steem it should be noted if it came from a bot or a reputable account as well. Bot upvotes count 0.0001 of a real upvote from a reputable account. Now that would be cool.

What do you find useful in Steem?
I noticed that a particular YouTuber that I subscribed to, who kept his/her comment disabled on YouTube, was interacting here with the fans. So that's one benefit, perhaps, of blogging here.

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68