Hatred Towards Others...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

t-chick-mcclure-609632-unsplash.jpg

So for my birthday this past December, I was given a Dad Calendar. For those of you that aren't aware of what these are, it is a book where each day is a new question to answer about yourself, for your little human. It's giving me lots of inspiration for The Son Journal since I looked at this section of Dapper Dad as one that I could later pass on to my little man to read.

Articles in this section may vary in length, but the core concept is to pass along values from father to son. However, some of these entries require more than just the 2-inch by 3-inch piece of paper I'm allowed. Now, without further adieu, here goes today's entry from the Dad Calendar.

Today's question was 'Have you ever felt hatred toward another human? Explain'.

Wow! What a strong question this is! Hatred is such an intense word. This really stood out to me because I strive to ensure that hatred never enters my little man's heart. So many times we are quick to anger because something is different in another person, or we feel wronged, or things didn't go our way.

While my mini-me is only three, there are so many things that I know are going to make him feel anger, or be upset with someone else. Heck, just this evening he became angry at me because I asked him to get some water after we were playing superheroes.

If I really think back through my life, and the times that I have ever felt distaste towards someone, I would like to think that I never truly felt hatred. Regardless of the position I was in or how I may have felt wronged.

So here goes my attempt at my open letter for my son:

Hey buddy! There will come times in your life that you may feel as though someone has done you wrong. Unfortunately, that is the world we live in, and this world was not made to be fair. Always remember that life is so much larger than you are allowing yourself to see in that tunnel vision moment. The sun will rise tomorrow, and you'll get out of your bed to put your pants on the same way you did today. Never let hatred into your heart, as you are a true gentleman.

Love Your Dapper Dad!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73