Proper Sidewalk Etiquette...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

vladimir-kudinov-58770-unsplash.jpg

As we all know, I am a huge fan of the gentlemanly era that is the 1940's and 1950's. So from time to time, I will find myself just falling down the rabbit hole of watching old voice over etiquette videos. Sometimes it is for research and to generate ideas for articles, but sometimes just because I find something so fascinating about how society used to be.

I tend to over observe these videos and have found that all have a few common themes if you watch closely. One of those themes is a gentleman's subtle conduct towards a lady. I mean, call me crazy, but I think there was something to the elder man's voice narrating the actions of the young boy, and how he is showing respect. I believe that it ingrained a certain psychological nature of how to act.

I often find myself repeating the elder man's voice in my head, especially when I am walking next to Piper. Whether it be to enjoy the nice weather, heading to a local restaurant for date night, planned or impromptu, or any other reason. There is always something so refreshing and freeing about this type of entertainment.

We may think that a walk is just a walk, and that is all there is to it, but I tend to disagree. There is still room for proper ways to show that special woman she is appreciated and you are that chivalrous gentleman that she fell, or is falling, for. What do I mean by this? Well simply put, as your grandmother would tell you, be sure to be on your best behavior, and show her that you appreciate her company.

But what are those small signals that we can send? I'm so glad you asked, how about we look at them now...

Pacing

This is probably the one I have to remind myself of most, to be honest. Make sure you are walking at her pace. It's not easy to walk as fast as you when she is wearing heels to look nice for you. Especially if there is a significant height difference. Walking together shouldn't be a race to get to your destination. Trust me, that building isn't on wheels and rolling away.

Walking Lanes

Be sure that you let your woman walk on the inside of the sidewalk. It should be instinctive that you want to be sure to protect your lady from harm or the splash of a puddle from a car. If it so happens that she is moved to the outside, because of the direction you are walking, be smooth and find something to point out to walk around her and stay there. She will appreciate the small gesture of you wanting to make her feel safe.

First Steps

Let's say you are walking in a city, and you come to a crosswalk. Especially if it is a yield only crosswalk, be sure to take the first steps on the road and make sure the cars will stop. She will again appreciate the gesture that you are taking the initiative for her safety. Points will definitely be gained here.

Conversation

Unless you are out for a jog, who wants to just walk in silence? Especially if you are on a date! Walking is such a great way to have a clear mind and think straight. This is a prime opportunity to have a deep conversation, or simply make mention of little interesting things you see, ask her about her days, tell her your childhood stories, the list goes on and on. Not sure how to keep it going? Check out The Small Talk post!

Double Booked

Here's a tricky situation! Someone else is walking your way, what do you do? Nope, not a trick question. Allow your woman to walk in front of you and slide in line behind her. Open up the sidewalk for everyone, and show her that you not only value her enough to let her go first but also that you are friendly enough to not shove others off the sidewalk.

Next time you find yourself on a sidewalk with your lady, try to subtly work in these small gestures. While she may not state it, and as a gentleman you shouldn't expect it, she will certainly appreciate the extra effort.

Thanks for tuning in today, and that's your Daily Dose of Dapperness!


About Me

Hi, my name is Blake. I'm a true fan of the 1950's style gentleman, a father, adventurer, and all around Curious George!

Connect with me:

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter

Be Sure to Check Out the Site:

Dapper Dad Club

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73