You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎛️ Music Production Talk: Follow the rules first and then break them.

in #blog6 years ago

That was a great article Harrison, I agree, when I open a DAW like FL Studio, I see a world of things that I have to keep learning, I never think that I reached the ending point of learning, I think we are just saying that we learned a thing just to show that we are in that path, but the reality is that there are always some challenges that we have to start them and test ourselves to see what we know and also in that process we will learn things.
for example think about a Music producer who produce Electronic music, then if that person wanted to start to produce an Acoustic music, he needs to know about instruments, he needs to know the sounds of each instrument and listen to many tracks in that genre, or a Classical music producer, if he wanted to start an EDM music, he needs to learn the structure of that genre, to know for example how the EQ and mastering and mix must be for each line in that genre.
and breaking the rules as you said, is when we know the rules, if someone says I break the rules without reading the rules, is like he has a guitar in his hand, and he don't know what is Pentatonic scale, but he want to break it's rule, its actually impossible, LOL, that's the way we have to look at how we produce a music.

I have to add that, I had too many faults in my way, and I always looked forward to learn more and more. and for me its a sea of knowledge that I have to learn. and I think I can never say that I finished it. :D

Sort:  

breaking the rules as you said, is when we know the rules

Thanks and very well said dude. That's exactly it. We can subscribe to the idea that music is an art and that there are no wrong answers, and I truly believe that, but it's still important to know why certain guidelines were created in the first place. Then you become knowing enough to use your better judgement and look at things differently.

Thanks for stopping by @davidfar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90