The Short History of Cape Town's Table Mountain

in #blog6 years ago

Cape Town in western Cape has a long history of human settlements. Local people used to live by by hunting, fishing, agriculture and by saving roots. This people are the ancestors of Khoisan, Bushmen and the Khoikhoi.

IMG_20171229_175702.jpg[The Table Mountain from the Sea]

IMG-20171229-WA0019.jpg[The View of the City from the Mountain]

Before european settlement the locals (Hottentot) use to do trading with Bantu-speaking people with cattle and marijuanaa. When europeans started their settlement in this area Hottentot people worked as brokers and did trading between Europeans and the Xhosa tribes in the east.

800px-Cape_of_Good_Hope_(Zaian_2008).JPG
Cape Point- Image Source

IMG-20171229-WA0018.jpg
[The V&A Waterfront]

Bartholomeus Dias the Porttuguese sailor find the sea route to the East. As per historians Dias was the one who named the peninsula as Cabo Tormentosa which means Cape of Storms and later Vasco da Gama altered this place to Cabo da Boa Esperanca which means Cape of Good Hope because they felt it brought hope that it is possible to a sea route to the East was possible. After 10 years Vasco Da Gama completed the sea route to India from Portugal via Cape opening trade between East and the Europe.

IMG_20171229_195852.jpg[The Sunset from the Mountain]

Antonio de Saldanha and his crew was the
the first europeans to climb Taboa do Cabo (Table Mountain), the name was given becasue of its shape.

Sort:  

Cape Town is a beautiful city in an even more amazing country. I've just returned from a trip there and was stunned by the contrast between city and the natural environment. The other cool contrast, Europe meets Africa... and it's as far from Europe you can get on the African continent.
I missed going up to Table Mountain but even from the bottom one can really appreciate how impressive it is. Thanks for the article!

Beautiful post and photos! You have my full support :) Also, I would really love if you could check out my profile, I do photography too :)

I am new here and you are welcome

I am amazed to read this article because after reading this article my mind becomes open. I am aware, I have been too closed with new things and feel already know. It affected me that I became a Sok Tahu

This article reminds me to keep digging and keep searching for information and new things.
But I have not understood the substance of the positive thought itself as to what and how to make our minds become positive. Maybe in another article can explain a little bit the meaning of positive thoughts.

Awesome post! I love the photos, I can't believe how beautiful that sunset is!

Definitely on my bucket list! I guess I need to take time off from my job for several years ;-) Great shots

Hi,you can look at the my last post I hope you will like it..

Wow😍 it's so beautiful

Good post you friend I like to visit it. visit my post also @fakhrurradhi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87