You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some info about my activity and my stance on flags

in #blog6 years ago

I think flagging for disagreement of rewards is a bit of a two sided coin, as it can be used in a fair way depending on the situation. But, I think there's a lot of room for abuse there which I've seen in the past on here. I had a friend who writes stories on here which are excellent quality that he must put massive amounts of time into considering how many chapters he releases with them being thousands of words each. A whale got into a disagreement with him and flagged all of his posts for about a week so he was getting $0 for pretty much everything.

So, I'm really on the fence about how I feel on flagging users. Right now, I really only do it to spam comments. There are other times where if I see someone stealing content or plagiarizing it and they're making a big reward that I'll flag as well, and I think that is also fine. The system just needs some fine tuning to help alleviate the instances of abuse and I think it would be good to go.

Sort:  

that's a good example, the whale flagging the writer down regardless of the content. i've seen so much garbage content come through here (legitimately just copied and pasted from other sites or it's just a link to another site without any commentary) get high rewards while other users who create original content (or at least obviously create their own commentary) get dick for rewards. it's frustrating and it's part of the reason the site has lost its charm to me. great idea in concept, but like every other good thing, easily swayed and ruined by the greed or pettiness of others.

There is steamcleaners. You or anyone can turn to them and ask for help when you feel you have been targeted for total annihilation, or you feel they are retaliating against you, or if a reward dispute and their idea is not reward for you, they can, have and do take care of those situation and more. They are like steemit's little angels for a lot of rough times. And they do have enough power to fix things, and if they need more help, they can turn to @ned for additional help. I have yet to see a case where they did not have the ability (SP Power) to help someone.

Thanks for letting me know about that! I thought that account was specifically for trying to get rid of spam and plagiarism and that was it, so it's nice to know that they're around in case I ever have an issue in the future I know I have somewhere to turn to.

Somehow or other they sometimes have access to or a lot of pull with the adm account, and that can squash a lot of accounts. Yes They do handle excessive downvote of rewards issues also. I do not agree with everything they do, but they really are helpful in situations that are difficult to deal with otherwise. Through chat or their online fill-out form. and they will respond back, at least they did to myself and four others I sent their way to get issues resolved.

A whale got into a disagreement with him and flagged all of his posts for about a week so he was getting $0 for pretty much everything.

Yep, that's abuse and should be countered.

Yeah, but how can you counter it when it's one of the biggest users on the site exactly? When someone has voting power of 350-400k Steem it just kinda seems impossible to fight back against, even if you try asking other big users for help as most of them really probably couldn't give a shit.

@freezepeach will counter abusive flags to the best of their abilities.

It's what they do. It's all they do.

That's decentralization I guess.

What he's saying is that if you get flagged just smoke crack cocaine. That's the only solution, kids.

Fine! I'll just get my own crack! With hookers, and blackjack!

I don't even know why you bothered replying to this, I just felt like writing something ridiculous, lol.

But it have to be noticed, that even with some posts getting to 0, he still gets a pretty good reward.

Last time i checked, i his 9-10 days (dont remember wich one a checked) ago posts, he had some 0 posts, but still were able to get around 320,00 on rewards.

The other days he probably still get a pretty good amount, because 10 posts a day with $200,00 seems pretty hard to zero his total daily reward.

That's insane! I think this whale should give money back to the writer! We need a new function on Steemit- to ban for a week or two from posting. So people like that will think twice before to donw vote someone unfairly!

The whale rarely posts. He makes his money from selling votes, and self votes.

Can't hardly flag him. He comments sometimes, and that's an attack vector, but he's actually in a flagwar right now, and it's not stopping him.

I know. He's been flagging me too.

LOL

I don't care. It does me no harm, because I can't spend Steem. I just use it to upvote others.

=D

There is so many shit content. My flags do nothing.(( They are powerless. You are good or you are bad, you won't get problems from one upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67344.10
ETH 3749.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69