I made this backpack 100% from scratch!

in #blog5 years ago

IMG_7235.JPG
Hey everyone!
Long time no see again but I've been really working on creating things to share rather than just creating filler posts that don't really show what I am working on.
While I was away I was working on making the back pack you see in the first image 100% from scratch!
Other than cutting a dress and hemming the edges I didn't really have any experience sewing or really making my own clothes. That being said, making this backpack was a HUGE learning experience for me.
Rather than rushing to finish I really took my time undoing seams and recutting pieces that weren't perfectly straight. Which was totally the right way to go in my opinion because making this backpack was basically teaching me how to sew in general.
IMG_7241.JPG
Also since this was my first time making something from scratch I did follow video instructions from a girl named Wendy on Youtube. (Here is the video:

)
IMG_7239.JPGIMG_7238.JPG
After making this I really feel now that I have the confidence to start making other pieces from scratch. I also really wanted to add my own personal touches to this backpack so I mainly followed the video to figure out measurements and to get a general outline of how I should sew it together. I did things like the zippers, top handles and back straps with my own flair to not completely copy the Swedish Bag company that this was inspired by.
IMG_7240.JPG
Key things to be noted BEFORE getting started:

  1. Choose a durable fabric. (Look in the outdoor furniture fabric sections or vinyl sections) You need it to hold its shape.
  2. Make sure to purchase long enough straps for the top and back straps.
  3. Not Necessary but I did it The instructions say 1.5 yards of fabric but I bought 3 yards as a "just in case" to account for any mistakes or extra pockets I would want to add.
  4. If you can, LINE IT with extra fabric. The excess fabric I bought was a good choice because without lining it really looked to "raw" in my opinion. I wanted it to look like you could buy it in store.
  5. Don't be afraid to undo seams. If you aren't satisfied, REDO IT. All these youtube videos are meant to be short and cut out mistakes anyone would naturally make.
    IMG_7234.JPG
    Wish you the best of luck if you do give this a try :)
    Much love everyone and I will see you with the next project!
Sort:  

It looks so cool! Now people will be asking you where you got such an amazing backpack and you can proudly tell them that you did it yourself! You should be very very proud of you! You've done a great job!

It's also good to hear that you took your time to make sure that you understand everything and that you also wasn't afraid to correct mistakes. This can be very demotivating if you do something based on a youtube video. It all looks so easy, shiny and perfect but when you try it you struggle like hell and then you wonder how come that it doesn't work for you.

It's nice that you tried not to copy that Swedish brand. It is important to be original. I'm glad to hear that it motivated you and that you're ready to sew more!

Cheers to sewing! :) Have a good day!

Thank you so much for the kind message! :) The support really means a lot!
Video editing always makes things look so much easier and simple than it really is but taking my time on this piece was so valuable. Quite the learning experience to say the least haha 🤣
You have a good one as well and seriously thank you again for the support! 💓

Really looks beautiful. Good job on that one. Your patience really paid of.

Thank you so much :) haha I told my mom 100% from scratch and 100% tested my patience 😂

Wow! This looks 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow it looks really good! Looks durable as well :D

Thank you so much! :) Really doubled up on the side panels to make it durable!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99