MY FEAR FOR MATH

in #blog6 years ago

Hello steemaint, is been long I visited so today I remembered my mathematics story,
woman-scared-math-red-hair-glasses-standing-against-blackboard-formulas-sketches-concept-exact-sciences-75710948.jpgimage source

And I decided to share with you.
All protocols duly observed.
My mathematics journey.
images.jpegimages source

As a child, I aspire to study medicine but I discovered in secondary school that I don't know maths. Myself and maths are two opposite sides that we never tend to meet.

On getting to SS1 I decided to join the art class cos I knew I can never meet up. When my friends or teachers were solving maths it do appear to me like magic.

Life in senior secondary class wasn't easy cos our maths teacher then can flog life out of you 😂. Mr Bello will beat your bums and you won't be able to sit for the rest of the day. If he beats your fingers I bet you won't be able to write for that day. I concluded that if I don't die through this man's beating then I won't die again😆😆.

When the beating was too much, I gave my mom story and my school was changed. My new school was better. My maths teacher understood my predicament and he usually tampered justice with mercy. We were two in the class that he doesn't beat because he said beating us is just like a punishment. He offered to tutor me during break and after school but all proved abortive.

Time for WAEC exams came and the trouble started. I started cramming all the objective answers cos most of the questions were repeated. He will ask us to come and solve past questions and I'll solve wuruwuru to the answer 😂😂😂. He'll be like you got the answer because you crammed it.

The day for maths came during WAEC and I was fidgeting. Out of 15 questions I hardly answered 7. I answered set theory, probability, binary numbers and the simple ones sha. Mo ma ke oo(I cried). After the theory exams uncle leke was just telling me it's enough that my objectives will carry me. I sha did mini mini miny moon for my objectives and used the crammed answers for those that were repeated. I went home with swollen eyes due to crying.

Results were out and I rushed to the café, I was just watching out for maths when I saw c6. I was overjoyed that I ran home, my friend had to bring my print out for me.

After five years of trying university without admission, a friend asked me to try poly this time. After a lot of persuasion I gave in that let me just go and write their post screening since I won't be going cause I already paid for follow in uniben. Post screening exam was 50 maths 50 English for mass communication department. I was like Kini gbogbo eleyi (what's all these). I answered the English very well (which I thank God I did) and was picking abcd for the maths.

Polytechnic finally gave me admission while uniben follow up was a scam. As a mass communication student I thought I had escape maths not until my HND1 1st semester when I jam with statistics. Haa! Ayemi. Me that I don't know maths how will I know statistics. I remembered telling a class mate that if I know I'll do maths as a mass communication student, I'll have gone for music 😂😂.

The day for the dreaded exam came, I did just the research aspect and submitted. Una sister later carried the course.
unnamed.jpgimage source

Statistics was the only carryover I had in higher institution. If I want to bag more degrees I will look very well so that me and mathematics will not jam face to face again.

thank you for your time to go through my blog.
I promise to be posting know, am back for good.

If you like what you read pls upvote, comment and resteem.
IMG-20180120-WA0000.jpg

I see you all 😚 😚

Sort:  

Congratulations @dinah4sure! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75