My Jiu-jitsu Journey thus Far: From Seed to Sappling

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Today, I was hoping to have a good round or two of disc golf at my usual park. Typical central Ohio weather deemed that an impossibility. Instead, I'll share my jiu-jitsu journey. I hope it encourages you to find your own path to a sense of purpose and belonging.

It is difficult for me to pinpoint my very first encounter with jiu-jitsu. I can at least narrow it down to two instances. I'm not certain which happened first. I remember a time walking through a mall where I grew up in northern Virginia (Nova, as we call it) with my mother when I was a young teenager. There was a Kim's Karate, just outside the Target, which taught a variety of martial arts. From the outside, I could see a whole room full of people dressed in what looked like traditional karate kimonos, but they were on the ground, choking each other and manipulating joints. As we walked by, I asked someone standing outside the gym what they were doing. They said it was Brazilian jiu-jitsu. My mother quickly retorted with, "Oh, that's for much bigger and stronger people." and we continued walking. I'm very thin, and back then I was even scrawnier. I didn't have enough time to take a good look to confirm if my mother was right (she usually is, but this time she wasn't).

The other such instance, was a little blurb in the national paper. It was about the first ever UFC event. Ironically, my mother pointed it out to me, noting that the victor, Royce Gracie, was a jiu-jitsu practitioner and that he was much smaller than the other competitors. Again, I'm not certain which instance happened first. They couldn't have been too far apart though. I'm almost 31 now, and fifteen years ago, there were very few jiu-jitsu schools in North America. That one I walked by could have been one of the earliest on the east coast, if not the entire continental U.S.

After that however, the seed laid dormant for several years. It wasn't until I was 20 that I ever really saw a UFC bout, and any real jiu-jitsu in practice. I remember seeing kimuras, armbars, rear-naked chokes, and all manner of other nasty fight-ending submissions. I knew right away that I wanted to learn these things.

Finally, by the time I was 24, I had enough time and money to really give it a try. I was living in Richmond Virginia at the time and there was an MMA gym near by that managed to produce an actual UFC fighter. That was enough of a selling point for me at the time. I bought a gi and signed up for their BJJ classes. It was mostly what I had expected. An hour long class consisted of about 15 minutes of warm-up drills, 25 minutes of technique, and 20 minutes of sparring, or "rolling". After six months of only attending about twice a week, I ran out of money. But in those six months, I learned one very important lesson. I SUCKED!

Most of the rolling consisted of the upper belts murdering the white belts. The techniques that were taught were good, but disjointed for beginners with little to no grappling knowledge. There was a curriculum that explained the basic moves you needed to learn to earn your stripes and progress to blue belt, but no schedule on when those techniques were taught, if at all. Despite the seeming lack of fundamentals taught, I still loved my time there. Grappling with anyone who is far more skilled than you is a truly humbling experience. Trying to solve the puzzle of someone trying to strangle you is also an incredibly rewarding experience.

It was that rewarding experience that kept jiu-jitsu in my mind. The seed had taken root, but not yet sprouted. Several more years passed, and I finally regained some financial stability. I found myself in central Ohio, unknowingly in one of the Meccas of U.S. jiu-jitsu. A friend of mine who lived out here was always posting online about how much he loved his academy. I looked at my bank account, dusted off the ol' gi, and signed up.

This place was different. There were classes just for the newbie that really went into the art of jiu-jitsu. The techniques and drills were purposeful and the curriculum was clearly laid out with a set schedule. Self-defense was the emphasis of nearly all of the beginner lessons. I realized that there were two different types of schools out there: ones that focus on competition, and ones that teach you the fundamentals of "the gentle art". Please don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that one is better than the other. Just that one might be better for different people. If you're already of an athletic build, maybe have some wrestling experience, and love to compete, you'll probably thrive at a competition school. But if you're like me, physically unimposing despite my stature, you may do better at a more traditional jiu-jitsu school.

It's been nearly two years and I am so grateful for the time I've spent at my current academy. I just found out today that I'll be testing for my blue belt on July 21st. However, the most important lesson I have learned is that the belt merely holds your gi together. In jiu-jitsu, you never stop learning. There is a depth so unfathomable you'll never live long enough to discover it all. At best, all you can do is continue to grow, into the strongest and most grounded tree of knowledge you can. My leaves have just started to fan out, collecting the bountiful sunlight of wisdom handed down through countless generations.

Os!

TLDR

"The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago. The second best time is right now."
-My black belt professor

Sort:  

You are really tempting me to look into this... great post, thanks for sharing!

Thanks again @dollarsandsense. I want to write an article soon about selecting the right school. It can be very overwhelming for someone who doesn't know the difference between a competition school and one that focuses on the basics of self-defense. There's a heated debate in the jiu-jitsu community on the benefits and drawbacks of both styles, but I really think it depends on the individual. When I get time, I'll see what I can dig up for you in the New England area. It might be a fun way to engage with your kid(s) as well.

@dollarsandsense, I've got a couple recommendations for you. Check out Dedeco Brazilian Jiu-jitsu and Terrinha-Draculino BJJ Team. Not sure exactly where you are but both have multiple locations around the New England area.

Dedeco may be more of a traditional school, and the head instructor is a co-founder of Origin, a company that makes great jiu-jitsu products in the USA. One of the blue belts at my school is an ambassador for them as well and she is an excellent judge of character, so that should say something. T-D may be more of a competition school. Both look like they offer a good mix of self-defense and competition though.

Additionally, there looks like there's a bunch of BJJ/MMA schools out your way. Most offer a week or so trial period at little to no cost, though you'll likely need a gi (usually around $100). Typically schools that teach multiple disciplines of martial arts gravitate toward a more competitive atmosphere. Shop around and see what you like. If you need any advice, reach out to me and I'll offer my completely unprofessional opinion!

Awesome, thanks so much!

Congratulations @disc-jitsu87! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @disc-jitsu87! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

nice article @disc-jitsu87 =) I also had no idea what it was when I first saw it and thought mmhhh I don't think I would like this. 4 years later, and I'm hooked like never before!!! Come chat with us in our discord if you feel like it!

Thank you @evecab! It has become quite the addiction for me too. I'm not on discord but I'm glad to see other practitioners on here. Happy rolling =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73