Geography101 - MauritiussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

I thought I'd quickly hop on here and deliver a short geography lesson.. On exactly WHERE the island of Mauritius is located as so many of you ask me where I live.

I'm originally from South Africa 🌍, Cape Town to be exact. I think I've spotted a few other Capetonians here aside from my normal nemesis @chekohler.

Photo of Table Mountain in Cape Town - where I come from

So on the screenshot of the WorldMap that I inserted at the top you'll see the continent of Africa on the left with a circle which indicates more or less the area which covers where I was born and bred.

On the right side of the island of Madagascar which features in the children's movie where the zoo animals escape to Madagascar is Isle Maurice, the island of Mauritius. And yes, it's just a pinprick, literally a rock in the middle of the ocean hidden under that black dot in the circle. The other tiny island you see there is called Rodriquez. I haven't been to visit there yet. ☺️

Isle Maurice where we reside currently... Pink circle indicates which area whe live in the north

Mauritius is about 45 by 70 kilometers and although the official language is English the locals converse in French and Creole neither of which I really understand.

I often visit Port Louis which is the capital of Mauritius to go to the markets and wander around the city with my camera.

Port Louis market as seen from above

The stylish and upmarket new Caudon waterfront contrasts starkly with the older neglected buildings in the Port Louis city center

Port Louis city center

A beautiful beach photo

A local road inland

The island is lush with vegetation and is known for its beautiful beaches and clear seas.

Our local Mon Choisy Beach

I've been living here nearly seven months now as my husband has been working here for nearly three years.

Taken on one of our inland excursions

Mauritius is part of the commonwealth and for most South Africans a very popular holiday destination die to its close proximity to South Africa. A direct flight can have you on the island in under 5 hours.

Some more information thanks to Wikipedia https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mauritius
Mauritius (/məˈrɪʃ(i)əs, mɔː-/ (About this soundlisten); French: Maurice, Creole: Moris [moʁis]), officially the Republic of Mauritius (French: République de Maurice, Creole: Repiblik Moris[7]), is an island nation in the Indian Ocean. The main Island of Mauritius is located about 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) off the southeast coast of the African continent. The Republic of Mauritius also includes the islands of Rodrigues, Agalega and St. Brandon.[8][9] The capital and largest city Port Louis is located on the main island of Mauritius.

Palm-trees are a given on a tropical island

I hope you enjoyed the Geography101 lesson and the photos I included.

All photos are my own*

https://www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com/

https://www.facebook.com/karolien.thereslifeafterkids/

https://www.instagram.com/karolienthereslifeafterkids/

https://www.instagram.com/our_mauritius_moments/

https://twitter.com/karolien_mylife

WorldMap banner.jpg

Banner created by @derekrichardson

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Isn't there a place called Surinam in Mauritius?

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not sure. I would have to find out. 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Do let me know if you find it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I did learn something now... 🙄😊🇲🇺

Posted using Partiko Android

That was really interesting!

I'm really happy you enjoyed it. Thank you for stopping by and reading this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dkkarolien
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=geography101-mauritius-vvaxde5g


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

oh wow, you have some beautiful beaches :)

Hi @seadbeady yes indeed we do. Thank you for stopping by. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #565.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Howdy dkkarolien! wow thanks so much for making this geography post, this is excellent. Is this going to be your permanent residence do you think? It looks like a beautiful island!

Good morning from my rock @janton. Thanks for stopping by. It's my absolute pleasure and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Yes for sure the island is gorgeous. It probably won't be a permanent place for us but I'm surely making the most of it while I am living here. There's much to explore and experience. My husband is a captain on a fishing vessel so his work can take us anywhere at the drop of a hat. All our belongings are in storage and our kids are basically adults at almost 18 and 20 so we will be roaming for a bit.😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again dkkarolien! oh how marvelous! Your life sounds even more fun now. lol..Are the kids with you or back on the Cape? What kind of fish does your husband's boat catch? I bet you guys have lots of delicious, fresh sea food!

Hey hey. Kids are in Mauritius with us... One a bit against her will as the boyfriend is in SA... 🙄☺️ Look on my page. I made a post specifically with the fish and tagged you. Thank you for the interest. 😊🐠

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy today dkkarolien! Thanks so much and I will check out the post!

Beautiful collection of photos...good to see u enjoying your stay in Mauritius

Thanks for share...

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure. Thank you for stopping by. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I’ve really enjoyed learning more about Mauritius by reading your posts. It’s a place I knew nothing about before and I really feel like I’m getting to know it a bit via your photos and words!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My pleasure. We live here for the time being and I often blog about our adventures here. Thank you for stopping by to read and comment. ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like paradise :)

Pretty cool that they have internet really.

It is and it isn't. Like many other places. Thank you for stopping by. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93