Restoring Mr. Grey's head lamps.

in #blog5 years ago

Mr. Grey had been with me for about 7 years, and mostly parked in open space, day and night. So it's normal for cars like Mr. Grey to have a blur headlights over time.

3dllzhphs7.jpg

yzt9umlbcx.jpg

I had surveyed for the new headlamps, which original Proton is RM616 per unit and RM200 per unit for OEM part.

My friend, Mahihi said that using OEM parts is the same as the originals, but from @davidke20's point of view, he said that the original part cut off line is very clear compared to the OEM part.

Like i said before, I am non car guy, I did not know about that, but I have some options about replacing the headlamps :

  1. Buy OEM part, RM200 x 2 = Rm400
  2. Buy secondhand original part = (did not survey that)
  3. Buy original part = RM616 x 2 = RM1232

Since I already invested some money for the rear windscreen replacement, soundproofing, and tinting previously, I decided to keep the rain check on the headlights.

@davidke20 mentioned that what I could do for the last resort before changing the headlights, by using restoring it using Soft99 wax.

So I went to Ace Hardware (as mentioned in Goo Gone post) and purchased Rain-X Headlight Restorer, instead of Soft99 wax as I the shop did not sell them.

ao0iqolb0w.jpg
Rain-X Headlight Restorer

(I only noticed Soft99 sold at Petronas station, Giant Supermarket, AEON Big Hypermarket later on).

First I cleaned the headlight from debris.

feh8hhpqts.jpg

o6t109eu9l.jpg

As per instruction said :

7py0p7mck7.jpg

And Voila!

gcs3qmg049.jpg

0jwj3fnj8x.jpg

Like I and @davidke20 said, Ok-lah!

je27bbn5xg.jpg

ycw0tmfvxh.jpg

rwa03so29f.jpg

I will be repeating the same process later until emptied the bottle before I decided to change the headlights later.

As usual, thank you for reading and please upvote and resteem!

Sort:  

Boley lah

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by davidke20 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your headlamps can be polished and re-coated for as cheap as RM120.

any detailing shop can recommend? btw, i think the headlamps cover cannot be saved anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74