Soundproofing Mr Grey

in #blog6 years ago

Mr. Grey was been with me and my family for about 7 years. Mostly I drove Mr. Grey to commute us around of
course e.g fetch my family from our house to my MIL's house, back and forth, going to supermarket for groceries, shopping, and occationally for family vacations. Well, that's normal when you buying a car, right? To get to point A to point B.

Mr. Grey until now is in stock factory condition, except done normal services (changing engine oil, engine oil filter etc) wear and tear item changes(tyres, belts etc), no rim cover, and not to forget the rear windscreen LOL.

The only modification (or mods I like to call it) was adding a front strut bar, previously bought from my fellow friend from Lowyat.net Proton Saga BLM/FL/FLX.

Before I continue, I need approval from fellow readers, especially car experts to use the word 'mod', eventhough the work did not called a mod.

fb2rp0djjo.jpg
stock Proton Saga FL looks like (pic credits to Aero7, CC BY-SA 2.5 my,

13d95uf7m8.jpg
Mr. Grey

Being a non car guy, I am quite happy with Mr. Grey now with stock condition, but after a while, I get more time driving Mr. Grey since I started driving for Grab (yes, I also a Grab Driver) I only now noticed about the Proton Saga poor NVH, or called Noise, Vibration & Harshness.

So, some of you readers will wondering, what is NVH?

According to Frost & Sullivan,

NVH is an industry term that stands for noise, vibration, and harshness. It is a search for the source of a noise, shake, or vibration, and it refers to the entire range of vibration perception, from hearing to feeling. Noise is unwanted sound; vibration is the oscillation that is typically felt rather than heard.

Actually I already notice about it from the times I owned Mr. Grey, but I just ignored about it for a very long time simply because it's the cheapest car I could afford, so no bother about it.

Or just maybe I only started to get annoyed by the road noise, the tyre noise, the outer traffic noise, the door slamming noise, rear trunk lid slamming noise, and so on, because of the age factor, or some say mid-life crisis perhaps?

In that week of the rear windscreen incident, I was started to survey about soundproofing works in the internet. And luckily, I knew a good friend of mine, Kelvin, better knew him as Mahihi from Lowyat.net Proton Saga BLM/FL/FLX who runs a car soundproofing business.

This video shows the basics to sound deadening in cars. (credits to Car Builders channel)

For more information about Soundproofing and Mahihi Soundproofing, can visit Mahihi Soundproofing FB

So, on Saturday, two days after get the rear windscreen replaced, I should have get the windscreen tint installed, but the installer had advised me only to install tint a week after, so I took a rain check for the tint. Earlier I had made a booking with Kelvin to do soundproofing on Mr. Grey.

After sending my family back home from a playground nearby, I drove to Mahihi's shop in Subang Jaya and arrived around 11am. So after that, Kelvin also arrived. It's been a very long time since we last met at his old shop in Subang Hitech, but I do followed his FB from time to time.

As I arrived there, I was noticed that I was the first customer of the day. Kelvin said that since I was the first to come, his staffs can concentrate on Mr. Grey and hopefully Mr. Grey will be done early.

I chose to do full soundproofing works on Mr. Grey since Kelvin at that time was doing promo for full car soundproofing, which covers 4 doors, front fender, full flooring, rear boot, hood and roof. The material used were layers of 2mm deadening & 6mm acoustic mat.

Checkout the video of Mr. Grey's soundproofing works.

Later, Kelvin told me that they could not finish the roof part that day, so the next week, I came back to the shop to finish it. I also add 1 layer of glass wool at the front wheel arch to further reduce the front tire noise.

After few weeks of driving after done the soundproof, i felt very much difference of noise reduction inside the cabin. I felt that inside the cabin was more quiet that before, and should I say, no more feel annoyed. No need to turn up the volume of the audio system until 20 (when i am alone driving). Driving experience became very relaxing and comfortable. No more feel like a milo tin car anymore. LOL.

Another satisfying mod. By the way, can I still say Mr. Grey a stock car?

Thank you for reading, and please upvote and resteem!

Sort:  

Nice, how much did it cost?

The boss offer super crazy promo RM2100 for full car. Another RM150 for add 1 layer glass wool the the front wheel arches.

wow rich funker!!

Congratulations @e-joo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74