Paris the city of love or was it light? part 2

in #blog6 years ago

Hello steemians

Welcome to part two of Paris.

After, visiting a view of the most popular sightseeing’s of Paris like the Notre Dame etc. (see my previous post) we were very trilled to add some more classics to the list.

What better way than starting that list with the Eiffel tower.
I probably can’t tell you so much more about the tower because everybody knows it, but I’ll try. First of all, when you visit it and you see a row with almost no people than don’t go there. I can assure you that it’s the entrance with the stairs and although it’s very healthy, it is not possible to get to the upper point along the stairs and believe me after such a long queue you really want to see it all so don’t make the same mistake as we did ;). Secondly, did you now that it’s the most-visited paid monument in the world?! ( at least it was in 2011). Further, the tower was originally intended for Barcelona but the project was rejected. Last but not least, during ww2, the French cut the lift cables on the Eiffel tower so if Hitler wanted to reach the top he had to climb the stairs.

P2071194 (2).JPG

P2071173.jpg

Afterwards, we went to the other side of the city to visit the sacré-coeur. Once you are here you really need to watch out for thief’s. Unfortunately, there are so many people who try to sell you stuff and try to distract you. Now back to the church. The thing that most caught my attention here was, how white the church is despite the pollution. Apparently it’s because they used Chateau-Landon stones and when it rains it works a bit like a bleach.

P2071132 (2).JPG

Next stop is maybe one that not every one of you knows. It’s « Le mur des je t'aime ». It’s a wall made in 2000 and it’s fully written with “I love you” in 250 languages and of course we looked for ours. Lucky for us, especially for me because I’m little, the "I love you" version in our language (Dutch) can you find in the middle of the wall.

P2071141a.jpg

P2071141.JPG

A few blocks away you find the Moulin Rouge. Honestly, it really disappointed me to see that it’s just in an ordinary house in a busy street but maybe that’s because I’m a big fan of the movie and it gave me higher expectations.

P2071144.JPG

The next day we got up very early because we wanted to see the Louvre and you have to take your time because it’s so huge!!! You really have to stay together or you will lose each other. We wanted to do something more than only the Louvre so we decided to visit the Mona Lisa (duuh) and a few corridors around it and the Egyptian part because when I was younger we had a tv-series about the Egyptian gods and ever since I’m obsessed with their history. I must say it definitely is worth a visit when you’re in Paris! The only negative point I can say is that when you want to leave it, it can be very hard to find the exit because it’s a labyrinth.

louvre.jpg

We ended the day with a walk on the Champs-Élysées and a surprising fact is that the food isn’t that expensive as you would expect it to be!

P2081287b.jpg

I hope you liked it and my next post will be about Luxembourg, Riga and Vilnius.

These are not the most famous cities and that is exactly why I want to go there and hopefully discover their beauty.
See you next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80