You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/08/18> Why should I not be surprised by this…

in #blog6 years ago

I can't make the logic of this work either. What's the 800 bucks for? Do you even know? If it's for things like lodging / travel expenses, it becomes even more ridiculous.

As you said ... organize something closer to home. The kids can help out the local community and sleep in their own beds at night. Some kind of communal lunch or supper the mothers catered with pot-luck picnic stuff would make it a festive occasion for everyone. (For lots less than $1000+ for the week. Are you folks in Texas just made of money? )

Somebody needs to remind these people, charity begins at home.

Sort:  

It is exactly what you have listed , lodging, travel and food while they are there. They have to buy their own food on the trip up and back. To even make it more ridiculous a church group from that exact area is here in our community doing work this week.
This is nothing more than an excuse for a white water rafting trip in my opinion. I get it that the kids would enjoy being away for 10 days and getting to travel but it doesn't make one bit of practical sense to me. Let them work here in their own community and then reward them with a weekend trip somewhere if you want too.
Some members of the church are pretty wealthy, we are not, that is why I told him initially he wasn't going, I wasn't going to foot the bill for something that is insane in my book. Since he essentially got a free ticket, the $800 amount, and offered to pay the rest out of his savings I said okay. We will reimburse him for what he will spend, but I would rather him think that it is his money he is spending so he will be more responsible on how he spends it.
Sixty kids is quite a chunk of change, it turns out that there is a service that matches up church groups and coordinates these "exchange" work trips, so I am sure they get a pretty nice commission check for handling the details.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86