I made my 1st Online Store

in #blog6 years ago

firma logo mindre.jpg

This project is maily for fun and to learn from it,
to gain some experience and to learn how all the difrent platforms work.
Like Shopify, Aweber, Facebook ads etc.
I can't say that ive had much success yet, but ive had a ton of fun and
alot of learning experiences.

https://xirel.net/ If you want to check it out

I Opened an account on shopify April 19th. Thats 30 days today, so I thought I wold share
my experience. Because why not :)

My first day consisted of designing the store, I cold choose between some basic free templates, or i cold buy some better ones, I bought one, why not, I had some cash saved up to spend.
In need of a logo i Googled how to get a logo and it sendt me to Fiverr.com
I placed my order for a $38 logo, and got it shortly after. You can read that story in the store blog if you wish

https://xirel.net/blogs/news/the-logo-story

After I had set up the store, I needed to set up the email service. I chose to use Mailchimp at first, Workled like a charm. Mailchimp is very easy to use and have all sorts of templates you can utilize. But after a few days I got banned by their automated spam bot detector, lession learned I guess.
I created a combined Facebook and Instagram ad, promoting a "Free watch + shipping" offer. In reality the watch was covered by the shipping cost. Im not a millionaire hehe. but I made it so I wold make no profit. It was for pure promotional reasions.

That promotion was going very well actually, got alot of email subscribers, Not alot of sales though. But when my mail service stoped working, everything stoped. 3 days without visitors while I set up my new Aweber account.
Had no problems so far with Aweber. I guess my next promotion attempt was a bit better. Same principle, offer a "free Bracelet + shipping" in return for subscribers.
I had 1000 visitors to the store the following couple of days, a few "free sales" but nothing huge. Got alot of email subscribers though, thats nice.

Had to slow it all down after a bit, Facebook ads can be a pricy thing and I am not making much money yet. So now im just running those two ads on very low cost budgets.

This is my latest attemt at facebook ads https://xirel.net/pages/social-boost
It's an ad promoting a Free giveaway contest on Facebook. Giving away a $40 watch at the end

klokke liten.jpg

No fuzz, no shipping cost or hidden fee. After all I do wish to apear serious and to succeed with this at one point. So no more spam offers I guess. My hope was that I wold earn enough to take some classes. Learn from some propper marketers and upgrade to a more professinal looking store. But in the meantime this is all just fun. I get to learn stuff,
like how to track missing packages, had to do that a few times. How to deal with annoyed customers, and happy customers. Its so much fun
I don't have a sosial life at the moment, so all i do all day everyday is work. When im not at my day job I am working on this project, So naturally some results wold be favorable.

Ive had all sorts of problems creating this store, from our Facebook page just vanishing, to the store font just changing all on its own, to everyones surprise. Even Shopify support had to ask for help.
Read all about it in the store blog https://xirel.net/blogs/news if you wish.

Now im gonna go mow my lawn, take a shower, eat lunch and work on my skills all day. Saving up to taking some courses. It wold obviously help out alot

Have a nice day. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @enurmik! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @enurmik! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @enurmik! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61