The more than 200 anime series and movies I have watched | Looking back

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

The list of 200+ anime

I feel like I remember them like the back of my hand. That is, all the anime I have ever watched. It has something to do with the pride of being an otaku. When a person asks, "Have you seen this anime yet?" it feels imperative to answer, "I did!"

Once in a while, however, my memory would fail me. I would remember the face of a character, but would never really quite remember its name or from where it came from. A tune would pique on my heartstrings, and I would find it incredibly difficult to ever remember from which anime it was sung.

When I was 17, I listed down all the anime I have ever watched. I racked my brain to as far as I could remember. In the end, my initial list ended up to having more than 100. I wasn't satisfied. I felt like there were more (more!) that I could have added, if only my brain and out-of-this-world Googling skills cooperated. Soon, at 18, I updated my list, and ended up with more than 200.

I proudly shared this list in my deviantART journal more than 4 years ago. I haven't updated it since. It isn't like I have a lot to add since 2014. Watching anime became sparse, even when it was the only thing that helped me destress.

Anime in periods

I would have loved to share my whole list here, but that would defeat the purpose of the link to my deviantART journal here on this post. Instead, allow me to share some anime from the list, in chronological order (in terms of when I watched it). I can't promise that my timeline would be accurate, but I'm trying.

4 to 12 years old

I started early. I think you have my big sister @arrliinn to blame about that. She exposed me to Rurouni Kenshin early. I mean, sure, I couldn't remember half of the series as a kid, but I can remember that she used to draw Kenshin back in the day. Here are some other anime I have watched when I was 4 to 12 years old.


Chacha from Akazukin Chacha. Image Source
  • Akazukin Chacha. This was the original Little Red Riding Hood for me. If I remember correctly, Chacha is a witch who can transform into a magical princess to fight evil. (I have only watched the Tagalog dub, and Chacha would chant, "Pag-ibig, Katatagan, at Pag-asa -- Mahiwagang Prinsesa, Holy up!" Hands-down the most memorable line for me, even after reaching my teens.)
  • Beyblade. When I was in grade school, I have more male friends than girls. I honestly have no idea why. Every afternoon, we would create "paper beyblades," reminiscent of the ones shown on TV.
  • Card Captor Sakura. Who would ever forget Kinimoto Sakura? She was literally my idol as a kid, of course aside from Sailor Moon. I have no idea how many times I re-watched the series with the help of my best friend, who would download episodes for me so I could re-watch. We also used to draw Sakura cards together.
  • Doraemon. Perhaps one of my favorite anime of all time, Doraemon was unforgettable. I always wished he was real, what with his magic pocket that seemed to contain anything and everything you would ever want and need.
  • Inuyasha. This show introduced me to one of my first anime husbands, Sesshoumaru. Also, this introduced me to how complicated love stories can be, and how annoying third parties are. I mean, seriously.
  • Mirmo De Pon. Mirmo is just so cute! Mirmo is a mug fairy whose mission is to grant his partner's wish. This anime is not only funny and cute, a lot can also be learned from it. I can only wish it's available to watch somewhere in the internet.

I would have loved to mention a lot more (like Prince of Tennis, Naruto, Shaman King, Yakitate! Japan, and Slam Dunk, for example), but you can always refer to this one for more. The point is, my childhood would be incomplete without anime.

13 to 18 years old

When I was 13, I was introduced to the world of fanfiction. My favorite fandom back then was La Corda D'Oro, where I met a lot of different people. In general, though, this period is when I got to see more intense anime.

This is the period where I fell in love with mecha. In particular, Gundam Seed and Gundam Seed Destiny. In line with this, I also fell for Aldnoah.Zero, which you should definitely check out, by the way. Its music and animation is so good!

During this time, I also fell in love with sports anime that isn't Prince of Tennis. There's Haikyuu! for volleyball, Major and Diamond no Ace for baseball, Offside for soccer, Eyeshield 21 for American football, Kuroko no Basuke for basketball.

I don't like open wounds, hence my natural dislike for morbid shows. But I couldn't help it! Many anime could be morbid, but the story line is promising. There's Shingeki no Kyojin, for example, and Mirai Nikki, Another, Deadman Wonderland and Tokyo Ghoul.

Erased

During my teens, I have watched enough anime to lengthen my list of watched anime. They could be amazing (cough-Aldnoah-cough) or they could be meh (cough-SAO-cough). During my last semesters in college however, I had to keep watching anime at a minimum. So I was surprised when I landed my first job.

My colleagues keep mentioning anime I don't think I have heard before. Imagine my horror! I felt like I needed to oil my gears.

Today, I watched one of the anime they have suggested, Erased. It also goes by the title Boku dake ga inai machi. The story follows Satoru Fujinuma, a 29-year-old manga artist who has the ability to go back in time to prevent something bad from happening. He was framed for the murder of his mother, which triggered his time leap 18 years back, where he felt like everything began.

It was mind-boggling, cute, sad, and awesome rolled into one. While I felt like there were certain "lapses," Erased is, overall, a really good anime. If you're like me who didn't have enough anime the past few months, Erased is a good place to start!

Increasing the list

Oh, brother. Of course I'd love to add more to my list! It has been four years since I last updated the list, but it wouldn't hurt to add more. Maybe you could suggest an interesting anime for me to watch? I watch any genre, to be honest, but I love action more than anything else.

I guess that's it for now. I've always wanted to share this list, I just keep forgetting. If you do visit the whole list, let me know which anime you have watched, too, that you really liked!

Sort:  

Anime fan here since childhood. Legend of the Galactic Heroes anime series is " the Game of Thrones of anime". You will love it forever.

I swear I've heard of it before so I did a bit of Googling and now I'm so ready for iiiitt. 👊

Try it. The old anime series art style might not be to your liking but the story will grab you like no other.

I honestly prefer the storylines of old anime/manga. They are so good! I watch some from time to time. I've dowloaded LOTGH and can't wait to watch them this weekend. 💃

Loading...

I'm currently watching Black Clover, Nanatsu no Taizai and Tokyo Ghoul.

I haven't seen Black Clover yet, but it looks promising! I will definitely check it out. I enjoyed Nanatsu no Taizai -- and am yet to watch the 2nd season (thanks for mentioning it!). I honestly thought that Tokyo Ghoul became too mainstream, but I realized that it did because of a reason -- it was really good.

Anyway, thank you so much for dropping by, @rainbowme! 👌😀

Sure thing, Tokyo Ghoul has a 3rd season out now. Pretty interesting where the characters ended up since last season. I think you'll enjoy Black Clover, it's similar to Fairy Tail. 😊

I'm seriously missing out on a lot. Now I have the 3rd seasom of TG on my to-watch list, too. 😃

Nice hehehe. Dami pa tlagang anime na maganda/masayang panoorin at alalahanin. :)

True! Para sakin dabest pa din yung mga lumang anime. 😭

I don't remember if I mentioned this one before but you should also try to watch Amnesia :)

NOOO YOU HAVEN'T MENTIONED! But OK, I'm adding it to my to-watch list. It looks promising, too. ☝️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84