My daughter's school has no electricity so I bring her to mall for 1:1 'outdoor school lesson'

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Yes, yesterday 3rd Apr 2018, my daughter's school was having electricity disruption from 10am until 4pm due to urgent maintenance by authority. The announcement was made by teachers through WhatApps. She enrolls to PPKI since this year and so far she seems happy to go there. Her class only has one session that is early in the morning till noon. Previously, she has been to various center which privately-run from Montessori curriculum to International School based. However, all centers she went has left her with bad experiences (will shared about her study life at my later post, so stay tuned!)


Watching movie 🎬 all day... naah! Let's go to the mall instead! 😍

I'm afraid she might feel restless in her class due to the 'blackout', so I decided to 'give her a 1 day school rest' 🎉 🎊 and of course the teacher says it is OK. Staying at home, as usual she will request to watch her favorite movie - Monster Inc. from our streaming channel. Don't want her to hook too many hours in front of the T.V so I decided to bring her to something more educational for her and fun for both of us.

I remembered about going to the saloon to do some haircut last weekend (unfortunately, I didn't make it due to attend some other engagement). So yesterday I decided to bring her to the saloon to do some haircut instead. Yeay!!. A few days earlier, I already remind her about my intention to bring her to do haircut at saloon so she may have expected it.

I hardly have normal 2-ways conversation between my daughter as she is still delay in speech. Our conversation normally mixed with her gestures. When I say to her "Lets go cut hair" She replies with her hand pointed to her hair and do scissors things with her fingers while smiling. Her smiling indicates she's ready to let her hair been cut.

In the car I will tell her that we will go to the usual saloon shop and remind her to sit still while cutting her hair. The saloon which she used to go located in a which only 3 km away from my house. Once we reached the mall, my watch already showed 11am. Once we step into the mall, we go straight away to the saloon which is at level 4. She already knew the place so she leads the way up to the elevator.


Lucky walk-in customer. 💈 💇

She knew which saloon to enter and the way she looks at me seems like she want to ask can I go inside. Definitely with an eye contact I say "No worry, you go first then I will follow you". I am quite relieved when there is no other walk-in customer except her. Its only 3 of us. However, the hairdresser looks unfamiliar because she is not the same sis we used to know. I did ask the new hairdresser whether she is a new worker here? I told her, we are the regular customer and my daughter always has her 'own hairdresser' previously. She replied me with smile that only her left working as a hairdresser here because the other sis already left. I nodded and directly tell her about my daughter's condition. She smile back and ensure me that she can handle her.

20180403_110825[1].jpg 20180403_111832[1].jpg

Luckily my daughter seems don't mind about the new hairdresser and she enjoys the moments. In fact, she tried to have a conversation with her 'new hairdresser'. I felt relieved, as there wasn't much hassle as she already made inform what the Do's and Don'ts. In fact, her hairdresser is quite professional and easily completed her service quick and smooth too. I look at my daughter back with a smile and right away give praise for her good behavior.


Fried chicken 🍗 vs book 📖 and tantrums.

Once we out of the saloon, she started to point at the Burger King logo which remind me about lunch out. I don''t want her to go there because I am sure there will a lot of people there during lunch hour. So I decided to take her to eat fried chicken at Uncle Jack restaurant instead which at level ground next to Giant Hypermarket. So I told her " Lets buy fried chicken at downstairs". I have to make quick decision to distract her thought about the Burger King and without her notice my intention.

However, along our way going down to the restaurant, she saw MPH Bookstore at the next corner and started to say " Book, book, book" followed her gesture 'open book sign' to me. I forgot that she loves book and definitely want to look for her favorite one. I know for sure, if I followed what she wants, surely it will dragged my time there for hours and finally lunch time will be delayed. I don't want that to happen so with smile I reply "Ok, if you want book, we wait for your sister and brother" She seems not satisfied with my answer because she wants it now! I distracted her again by showing her the restaurant and bought fried chicken there. Luckily, at 12am, not many office worker lunch out yet in that restaurant, so I brought her to the counter to place our order.

resize_lunch1.jpg

While eating, she's still keep saying about the book and this time her voice tone is getting stronger. This is the sign of tantrum and this time around she wants to get a book from the bookstore. Her tantrum was last about 15-20mins before I managed to settle it down after saying to her that whining will going to help her to get what she wants so it is better to say it politely to me. After awhile, her tantrums gone as if nothing happen. Once she calmed down, I asked her to accompany me to the supermarket to buy her favorite biscuit - Mamee biscuit - original flavor.

The funny incident 😂

In the supermarket, she followed me to the Snacks, Cookies and Chips section to buy a packet of biscuit. She found Mamee snacks instead with Mamee biscuit - original flavor in it. I don't want her to buy snacks so I said "Not Mamee snack and please put it back" while grabbing Mamee biscuit - chocolate flavor instead because at the same food rack there was no original flavor. She refused to put the Mamee snacks back because she wanted that original flavor biscuit logo printed on the snack pack . Finally I got her message that, it is not the Mamee snack that she wants, it is the original flavor that printed on that packet. So, I said "Ok, lets find to other food rack (to find the loose packet instead)". She feels happy when she finally got what she wants and I am more happier because I have saved few ringgits (which is RM9) from that small packet of Mamee - original flavor (she has chosen) at cost RM1 as compared to big packet which I have offered her earlier - which cost RM10 .. 😁

resizemamee1.jpg resizemamee2.jpg

New lesson taught at the restaurant :

📌 Request her to line up properly and let her choose the meal that she wants although I already know its a fried chicken.
📌 Pay the cashier money.
📌 Get the straw, bring the food tray to the table and let her decide which table to sit and dine in.
📌 Do hand washing, sit properly while eating and finish meal on time.
📌 Once finish, do hand washing again and bring the food tray and her empty drink and food plate into the rubbish bin.


New lesson taught at the supermarket:

📎 Look at signage before buying biscuit.
📎 Put back unwanted biscuit to its original place.
📎 Line up and waiting at the counter.
📎 Pay biscuit at the cashier.
📎 Once finish, take plastic bag and exit the supermarket.

Thank you for reading my post today! Keep steem on 4good! Positive comments are most welcome! Resteem when you find this post is worth reading!

signature_2.gif


Upvote Follow Resteem_2.gif

Sort:  

Beautiful home schooling day Momma. Thank you for sharing just a little piece of Malaysia with me.

Your daughter sounds like a precious little girl and your writing style pulled me in. I felt like if I was having a little trip through your town and could see the same stuff you did.

This inspires me to blog about next time my daughter and me go for a walk.

Yes, it's a pleasure to show you around @metzli. Hey! you can do almost anything when it comes to giving a lesson to your daughter. Just give it a try! I'll bet she's going to love it and in return, you will feel satisfied. Good to know my little effort give inspiration to you.. 😍

❤️❤️We do homeschooling too. This past year was easy - Kindergarten, next year will be a little more challenging as its first grade. My oldest is joining us at home too and I’m really
Looking forward to it.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75