I'm Getting Hooked To Steepshot! Have You Tried It Yet?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I've had the @steepshot app on my phone from the time they released a downloadable version but I hadn't looked into in in a while now nor used it beyond a few attempts early on. For 5 months or so it just remained unused. I followed some of the updates on Steemit and @sjennon kept updating me on how she thinks it is as she seemed to use it a fair amount with a second account called @shenkie.

Couple of days ago while on a chat with a friend about Instagram, he wished that Instagram paid him atleast a few cents for the photos he uploaded. It struck me then that we have our Steem blockchain powered Instagram-type application. It's called 'Steepshot.io' and it's up and running! Doh!

Have you guys seen the changes to Steepshot?

Share memories, earn coins!

True to their caption, the app works beautifully!

I had a bit of a wow moment today when I opened it up. The interface is clean, it seemed to work well on my Samsung S8+ and the pictures seemed to load quickly. The layout is great too and easy to navigate. There are a lot of features that I would love to see in it but at this stage I think the team has done well to accomplish all that they have so far.

Some of the things I would like to see in the near future is the ability to view image description and ability to edit your profile from the mobile device. I'm sure these things are on their way and I won't nitpick too much right now.

Content filtering

For the longest that I've been considering using Steepshot, I've been split between using my account and cluttering it up vs having a separate account. I went with the latter option as I wanted to keep my blogs easy to find on Steemit.com.

My friend @sjennon uses @shenkie as her Steepshot account and I went with @mnaik. I had the advantage of using this account and with over 14400 followers it has the advantage of getting more eyeballs. Maybe as Steemit continues to develop and in the future if there's a possibility of filtering content from this type of cross platform use, I will switch over to my main account on Steepshot. In the meantime I've decided to build up my Steepshot account and market it a bit on traditional social media and see what response it generates.

I've managed to gain a few followers on the account already. I will step up my efforts and hopefully in addition to Steemit. Steepshot can gain greater popularity amongst users from India and rest of the world!

Response on Social Media!

I shared some information about Steepshot on Facebook and my friends seemed to like it a lot and signed up quickly on the application. I think about a dozen people signed up in all yesterday. Some of them even posted a few pictures of their own.

Check out content from @bikergirl, @xtrememotoadv, @ashwinrajt, @abhishekx, @lazyrider46, @bunnypunia, and @leftfield for example. Feedback was largely positive from everyone!

My facebook post got shared a few times, and had about 67 comments by end of the day. I will post about this in greater detail in another post.

One of the issues was that my friends couldn't find the app in the India Appstore. Android users didn't have any such issues. I hope Steepshot gets out of Beta soon and gets listed on Appstore globally.

Web Interface vs Mobile

For once I'm glad I didn't need to use the web interface. I use Steemit 100% via web. If I'm travelling I tend to do some voting via esteem while my mother uses esteem to do 100% everything. I've used Steepshot on my mobile phone and I'm quite happy with using it just there. The web version looks beautiful and is very fluid. This is something I miss on Instagram. I've not been very active on Instagram but I think I will be very active on Steepshot!

Revenue Share

If you weren't aware: 15% of your post reward goes to Steepshot! I think that's great as this gives allows them to continue development of the app. This is similar for nearly all the applications on Steem blockchain I think with the exception of Steemit.com.

Review

I will post a more detailed review of the app when it moves out of Beta or perhaps when the next major features get added on. But here's a first impression from @sjennon that's worth a read!

Support Steem Blockchain Application Developers

Steem blockchain is incredible and there are some really cool things you can do with it. Some of the popular applications that I can think off the top of my mind are @busy.org, @jesta's Chainbb, @steepshot, @dtube, @viewly, @zappl, @dlive and @utopian-io and there's of course @esteem mobile app. Be sure to check these guys out and use the applications they are building!

Follow me on Steepshot. My account is @mnaik


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. India Has The Highest Number of Facebook Users In The World—What Does It Mean For Steemit?
  2. 4 Tips For Steemit Account Recovery & Wallet Security!
  3. Steemit.Chat Contest #8 + Contest #7 Winners Announcement!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Get out of town! Didn't know this was working smoothly yet - will have to check it out again :D

I just signed up for it, and I think this will actually get my fiance on the Steemit platform, as she's not much for writing longer posts but she does love Instagram.

Me neither, just signed up and using it already! Exciting stuff, can't wait to see where this goes in 2018

Thanks for sharing this @firepower ! i had no idea this was a thing! definately going to check this out..

Wow, such a great app idea. Downloading it ASAP

Love that platform bro!! :) revolution in terms of social media and all that... pushing us closer to the moon an way above, do you have your oxygen tank ready?

April here we come :))

I agree. I'm all set. ;)

Amazing project i try my best to promote steepshot in my comunity it will be huge thanks for sharing

Please do. :)

This looks amazing. I’ll definitely be checking it out!!

Yes, it is. :)

I tried it before and then forgot about it. Will take a look at the new avatar. Thanks Man!!!!!!

very welcome! :)

Wana put your life out there? Great, why not get paid while at it... I love it, will try it soon.

Sure, do check it out. :)

I'm downloading it on my OnePlus 3 as we speak. So excited to get started.

Good luck with it. :)

Just posted my first picture :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77