Black Bean Salsa

in #blog5 years ago

This salsa is so versatile! I already have used it as a dip for chips, as a filling for an omelet, and as a topping for chicken! I didn’t make it spicy because I didn’t have any peppers, but you could easily add a few jalapeños for spice. I came up with the combination after reading a few different recipes in cooking books and on food blogs. Feel free to make your own additions and subtractions.

  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 3 small Roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • ¼ cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • ½ teaspoon salt

Combine black beans, corn, tomatoes, onion, and cilantro in a large bowl. Add olive oil, lime juice, and salt. Stir to combine.

Tips …
Onion can be very powerful, so definitely try to chop it as finely as possible. I used yellow onion, but red onion may be an even better match for this salsa. I've never really used cilantro until this recipe, and I found it has a very interesting taste! I thought it really complimented the lime. I love using fresh anything, but I always hate buying fresh herbs because they come in such large quantities! Since I rent an apartment, I don't have any space for garden, but I'm thinking of lining up a few pots on my stairs to grow some fresh herbs and solve that problem this summer! Definitely include the cilantro in this recipe, though, even if you have to a buy a ton. It isn't that expensive, and it really gives this salsa its depth of flavor. I used a few more sprigs when roasting the chicken I mentioned. Make sure to also finely chop the cilantro. As for the lime, I squeezed out (and I was pretty persistent) about 3 tablespoons of juice. The recipe makes quite a batch so get ready to be creative with uses for salsa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94