Fresh Tomato Basil Salad

in #blog5 years ago

I had a garden last year! It is indeed my victory garden, considering it is growing on my front steps! My friend Sandy and her parents donated several potted tomato plants to me in early June, and I set them up in a nice spot right outside my front door. Then my tiny tomatoes began to ripen! It turns out I am growing yellow pear tomatoes, a sweet miniature tomato that is perfect in any kind of salad! I featured them in this simple salad with a few other varieties of tomatoes as well as fresh basil from my friend Sandy's amazing (and much larger) garden!


source

  • 1 small Roma tomato, sliced
  • Fresh yellow pear tomatoes
  • Fresh red grape tomatoes
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • Handful fresh basil, chopped
  • Olive oil
  • White wine vinegar
  • Sea salt
  • Fresh ground black pepper
Combine tomatoes, onion, and basil. Splash wtih oil and vinegar. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Tips

This salad is probably the easiest dish you will ever prepare. Everything just has to be thrown together. If you make it ahead of time, and let it rest for a while, the tomatoes marinate beautifully in the oil and vinegar. I also have started to use natural sea salt, on the recommendation of my holistic doctor. It is much stronger than regular iodized salt, and without the added chemicals, it is also much healthier! This salad is the perfect demonstration of how delicious (and easy) natural food really can be.

 

 

Sort:  

Congratulations @folke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94