Are we ready for the 50/50 reward system?

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

There is a brewing discussion about the instance of splitting the post rewards to 50% for both the author & the curators. At the moment the split is 75% for the author while 25% goes to the curators.

Well, this isn't a new concept of reward system, in fact it's probably discussed long before I even joined the Steem blockchain.

The premise for this 50/50 split is to encourage SP holders to curate for contents instead of simply selling it to vote-selling services or delegate SP to bid bots for instant return of investment.

If I were to put my position to a Whale, who is actively curating for content creators; this split of rewards is a good incentive for me to keep supporting authors without any regrets at all.

On the other hand, if I'm a lowly plankton who wish to earn through my posts, which would help to pay some of my bills. I would definitely feel like I'm losing a big amount of my hard earned money with this 50/50 rewards split.


source

 

Having said those, if I am to broaden my view about it and have an optimistic thought; I do think that the 50/50 split will have a rather positive turn around to the social interaction among users: Minnows & Whales. Let's say that some of the Whales are encouraged by the 50/50 reward system and get them to curate instead; for them it will be a good business opportunity. They can simply run a curation project similar to that of Curie community, who are sustaining their effort by paying their curators a certain amount from the curation rewards. In essence, there will be more rewards to be distributed to quality content creators.

 

Let me know your thoughts about it.

FT


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://funtraveller.repollo.org/2019/04/14/are-we-ready-for-the-50-50-reward-system/

Sort:  

maybe only change the ratio for whale accounts that vote on their own content... or who run hundreds of alt accounts to vote on themselves.
Also, remove those accounts that are used to troll & scare small users off the blockchain. ty.

The problem is that to do that would be to destroy the decentralization that is so coveted about this platform.

吃了吗?来 @steemgg 玩游戏吧,决战到天亮如果不想再收到我的留言,请回复“取消”。

I am all for it. I have said for some time that Steemit is good at developing content providers and terrible at developing content consumers. We can't all blog our way to prosperity. Someone, more someones then we currently have, need to be content consumers. A 50/50 split is a good move in that direction.

If rewards of curators grows that big SP interest should go lower... 50% is just too much! 35% maybe... but at 50...? who knows... maybe whales can use the new beneficiary system and promote authors for his future post, like a bet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91