Picnicking in Hyde Park, LondonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

If you've read one of my earlier posts, you would know how much I love London as a city. I lived in London for a year, but in that one year, I made the city my own. After so many years, I still can't get over it.

Related post: I Left My Heart in London

I realized as I'm sharing my experiences and memories from my days in London here on Steemit, I'm missing it even more. One of the things I miss most about living there is the 'English Summer'. Now, I know summer in England is a very elusive thing, but it's the most beautiful time of the year. There's so much energy and happiness in the air. Nobody knows how long the sun is going to shine in England, so the Brits (and everybody else) make the most of it. One of my favorite things to do in London during the summer was to grab a picnic basket, some friends, and head to the Hyde Park.

Basking in the sunshine

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-5-main.jpg

Hyde Park is one of London's eight Royal Parks and it's huge! It's spread across 350 acres, and filled with beautifully landscaped gardens, so much greenery, a beautiful lake, and everything you need for that perfect summer outing. You can grab a glass of pimms (English summer drink), hop on a rowing boat, go swimming, horse riding, cycle, stroll around, play games, or just chill with a book and watch the world go by.

Hyde Park, London

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-6.jpg

Pretty English Roses

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-2.jpg

These are in bunches everywhere

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-3.jpg

Bronze statue of Diana in Hyde Park, also known as Artemis

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-4.jpg

Hyde Park is a very popular spot during summer, loved by both Londoners as well as the tourists. So if it's a sunny day in London, you know it's going to be packed. But that's not an issue because there's enough ground for everyone.

Kids enjoying the sun and water

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief.jpg

Fellow picnickers

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-11.jpg

You can either grab some goodies from the stores nearby, or do what I like to do - pack my own picnic basket!

Here's our picnic in the Hyde Park.

@kwlvarun making a cocktail

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-8.jpg

A bunch of friends picnicking and having a good time

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-16.jpg

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-17.jpg

A nice, sunny day calls for Uno in the park

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-18.jpg

...and goofing around with ducks

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-12.jpg

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-13.jpg

Meet more friends over Pimms

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-14.jpg

And just like that, a beautiful day ends with a beautiful sunset over the Serpentine Lake

picnicking-in-hyde-park-london-girlinchief-15.jpg

Do you have a favorite summertime activity? Which is your favorite picnic spot in your city? Tell me about it in the comments below. I'd love to know.

If you like this post, then please show some love! I regularly post about my travel adventures across the world. So if you're looking for some travel inspiration, follow along! :)

steemit banner-girlinchief.png

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=girlinchief
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=picnicking-in-hyde-park-london


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Awesome, travel blog. I just liked to watch over and over again. Have a great day!

@praxantp Thank you for your kind words! Have a good weekend! :)

Love your post. You've got a new fan now. 😉

Awww...Thank you so much @dewdrop 🙂

Lovely post! I remember the Hyde Park too, with all its adorable squires keep bugging you for food :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71