You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Early Bird Steem Advantage

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

The problem is that in order to get the best author rewards, I have to set up a bot to vote up all the authors that are always on the trending page due to all the other vote bots, regardless of the quality of each author's posts.

I fear this action only cheapens Steem and stifles its growth, so I would rather make less and upvote undervalued posts to keep the undervalued and new authors around.

I wish that the witnesses might change how curation rewards work, so dog-piling votes on the same few authors every week would no longer be economically viable, but I think it is probably not in their best interest to do so since they benefit so much from this model.

I know how hard it is to vote for less daily rewards in order to help Steemit grow, so I can't even blame the witnesses, but I really wish things would change.

Sort:  

I actually agree here @gonzo, wish there was a way to reduce the pile on effect without discouraging growth and creativity.

What scares me the most is the idea that if we don't act soon enough some other developer (maybe dan) figures out how to fix all these issues.

Then implements them in another social media site that is built on EOS or another blockchain and Steemit becomes just another friendster or myspace, leaving us holding the bag.

the difference between us and friendster is that we're also a cryto, if we achieve some cirtical mass of adoption, people will always use us as a online and day2day currency

on the plus side, if eos, eth runs up very high, it actually attracts bigger investors and makes it harder for the everyday people to buy it or even mine it with creativity, hell you can't mine eos, you have to buy it from 1 billion tokens upfront.

this gives us a big underdog advantage to accumulate a Steemian userbase under the radar, we will have the masses, i see that happening with a great probability

BTW. @dan has a history of supporting his older project, it's unlikely he will try to take down bitshares (which his dad runs) with a new exchange and Steem(which he owns probably own close to 10million steem all up with other duplicate accounts like @freedom, also he stil has a big stake in Steemit Inc, can only guess how much Steem that equates to, but it's big!) with a new fb. It's more likely he will try to integrate Bitshares and Steem into the EOS ecosystem which will validate and help both thrive. In the future you'll start to see bridges of blockchain being build...such a protocol does not exist yet, but I see it coming to fruition and a standard within the next 5-10 years.

This is actually relieving to hear.
Thanks for the info :)

did you see my respond above to Kevin? That is a more likely scenario, hope it gives you knowledge and greatly encourages you about the bright prospect & brilliant future of Steem to come

Your comment makes alot of sense. As a person who only posts every so often the rewards are always minimal especially because I can not afford to pay for upvotes. I wish there was another way because this is the major flaw with the system and why it discourages me from using the platform in general.

will power...use that and force yourself to be creative, i can understand being discourage if you put in the effort but you just started, the possibilities are limitless for all new Steemians

BTW. It takes usually 3-9 months of consistent effort to find your niche that will take you rep >60, this is my observation, persistency pays here

Hey @blazinbob419

To be honest, the best way of getting votes is by getting to know other Steemians on chat or discord, a lot of people tend to upvote the people that they feel a personal connection with.

Also I can definitely see a correlation between how involved new people are in the community and how much rewards they receive, but @dj123 is right, it does take time.

I hope this helps :)

I have never been able to get the chat to work. I tried to register and never got an email confirmation and I have tried twice. I dunno maybe I'm doing something wrong but the chat and me haven't gotten along so far. But other than the chat issue I really like steemit because it made me realize how little I know about computers and crypto so I have been learning like crazy since joining. So for me even though my rewards have been small the knowledge that I have gained has been more useful than anything else.

yeah i have heard others also had difficulty, try registering again, it's possible the mail server had an error, you can register with any email.

you will get less curation from those mass voted trending posts then from selecting manually others that do not have so much sp but a lot less votes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85