Trump attacks cryptocurrency

in #blog5 years ago

I have been rather indifferent to this man's Presidency. I don't really have an opinion about what he has done and feel that for the most part the rage-o-meter about him is largely driven by clickbait "outrage" articles with questionable or non-existent research. I don't like the guy, nor do I fall into the trap of a lot of people that seem to be looking for a reason to be angry at him for anything that he does.

Trump.jpg
source

I honestly believe that if we had social media in such an all-encompassing way (as it exists now) during any other period in time that the fabricated "political division" would be exactly the same as it is now. Presidents, like all other humans, say dumb S**T from time to time and in times past we wouldn't really be privy to most of them gaffes.

I remain indifferent towards this president although I will say that I do find him entertaining, if nothing else.

64464400_2386185924781733_195156454867468288_n.jpg

66449517_2386186188115040_1101080154127466496_n.jpg

In a bizarre series of tweets, the President is attempting to turn public favor away from crypto and this of course happened to coincide with the rather scary downward trajectory that we are facing right now.

Know I know I am preaching to the choir here, since most of us are pretty big fans of cryptocurrency in here. I'm kind of curious as to why it is that he decided to go after BTC now though. He's not wrong about the volitility, that much is obvious, but I kind of lump him into the same category as Warren Buffett, where I admire their immense success, but don't think they really understand what it is that they are opposed to. I suppose it doesn't really matter to me whether or not either of these guys understand it or not, especially not the President.

For me, crypto was always a way to get AWAY from the government as far as finance is concerned so the fact that the government doesn't approve of its existence is not any real surprise. I like crypto BECAUSE you don't like it pal!

Making the connection between crypto and drugs is nothing new and for the uninformed Silk Road will always be their justification behind that statement. I sincerely hope that Trump and anyone else on this bandwagon, doesn't ever find out that a vast majority of drug transactions happen with good old fashioned cash. All of mine have.

Sort:  

I have been fairly indifferent towards his presidency though as time goes his credibility diminishing under what seems like never ending scandals. I'm glad to see the Bitcoin price was relatively unaffected from his remarks on Bitcoin, there was a dip though it quickly corrected.
bitcoin-unaffected-as-markets-shrug-off-trumps-critical-tweets.png

yeah... there is some funny speculation out there that the market actually recovered faster because of his comments. It was free publicity anyway.

It makes sense that Trump would say this...Bitcoin literally flips the unfair power hierarchy and removes the middle man from peer to peer payments.

Like you, I am not a follower of this gentleman, but I believe that if there is something dangerous, it is a volatile and impulsive person with power. The BTC doesn't need governments to like it, especially because governments don't control it, but how badly do bad publicity right now. The word can be a murder weapon. Good night, @gooddream

Look what Justin Sun (Tron CEO) Said to Trump : Let's meet at dinner with Buffet Warren and i will explain you about blockchain and btc.
After that, You will become the biggest fan of Bitcoin.

i remember hearing something about this. DIdn't he bid a bunch of money to win a lunch with Buffett or something?

My reaction to seeing those Trump tweets.

Face Trump.gif

Trump is powerful, but not powerful enough to change the current of history or the realities of monetary value changes.

FxxK TRUMP!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00