Spending the Holidays in a Warm Climate

in #blog6 years ago

20171128_160751.jpg

I have lived my life in Nebraska, so the only natural progression for me is to have four distinct seasons every year, gradually changing from cold to warm and then cold again. Growing up, holidays were spent at relatives' houses, warm by the fire, eating comfort food and then nestling into a lazy activity or a rowdy family game indoors. It isn't unusual for us to have snow on the ground for Christmas as well as Thanksgiving. In fact, a Christmas without snow is disappointing and would leave us feeling almost unsettled, like something just isn't quite right.

Some of my family members moved to Florida a handful of years ago, so I now spend some of my winter holidays down south. I was happy to celebrate Thanksgiving in Florida this year, But I can't shake the feeling that it is weird to be able to walk outside (without a parka) in perfectly temperate weather immediately after eating the big turkey dinner. The food is the same. The family time is the same. But the activities just seem so different.

By the time I was homebound, most homes and businesses in Florida were already decked out in their Christmas decorations. Other than the lack of snow, Florida residents seem to have the same festivities as Nebraska folk. Still, something doesn't feel the same. Don't get me wrong: I do absolutely LOVE that warm weather... but I still have that perception that it just doesn't feel like the holidays when the weather is warm!

20171128_161517.jpg

Steemit friends, I ask you this:
Where are you spending the holidays this year?
Have you ever spent the holidays away from home?
Does the climate impact your holiday spirit?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55