Where Have I Been? Explaining My 2 Month Hiatus

in #blog6 years ago

Hiatuses. They're a thing and they happen to me pretty frequently.

What is up, ladies and gentlemen? It has been like two months (?) since I've posted on SteemIt. Now some people would probably just completely ignore making a whole explanation. I can't. I feel guilty if I don't. I'm soft and squishy that way.

So what does a 22 year old Malaysian do for two months? Let's get started with...

1. Burn Out

This is one super annoying thing that happens to me and I bet a bunch of you guys reading too. It isn't a secret that I'm a university student and I'm taking my degree in Animation and Visual Effects (majoring in Animation). A while back, I finished my final year project.

It was great! It was amazing! It felt so good to work on something with a group of such awesome people to create something!

It also burned me out creatively for...a while...

Now, it's not that I suddenly end up hating doing anything animation related. Just tired. Some times we need a break from things. I was drawing less frequently, my moods weren't the best, and etc. I could go on and on about it.

But thankfully I got out of that funk and something else came up which was...

2. Learning A Third Language

For those non-Malaysians, lemme tell you, by default, you know at least two languages (some people know 3-4 languages). That's your basic starter pack. Yes, that's considered basic. I don't want to be a basic.

So I know two languages: English and Bahasa Melayu/Malaysia (it's different from Bahasa Indonesia, okay?). And this semester in my university, I took up to learn Mandarin.

Why? You may ask. Because I want to read all the pretty and cheap Chinese books in Popular and MPH. 

English books are expensive...

Also, I wanna lean to speak Chinese with my Chinese friends. Although the dialect here is more of Hokkien/Cantonese, gotta start somewhere, right?

3. Learning A New Software

Image Source

For most of the time, I've been using Autodesk Maya to do all my 3D works. It's a pretty standard software in a majority of the 3D animation industry. However, a teeny tiny problem I have with the software is cost.

So I'll be in the middle of learning Blender, which is great because the software is completely free. It's a whole world's different from Maya but gotta start somewhere.

So that's about it so far. I'll be trying to get back into the groove of posting regularly once more on SteemIt (and my other social medias too. A millennial forgetting social media exists, ironic.)

Anyways, post to ya'll later!

Sort:  

readies Terminator specs Welcome back, @hanbun

Eyy, glad to be back, @gordon92

perfect ,,, i like with successful people like you. sorry if wrong with my comment !! thanks.

Aw, I'm humbled. I don't think I'm successful just yet but I hope to be on the road towards it. Thank you for your input, @gudanggaram =3

thanks for the advice I hope I always think positive ..

Welcome back!
I recommend you this guy's tutorials n.n I am learning blender too :D

Haha I'm actually following this exact series xD I'm on material nodes at this point

he is a good teacher!!:D

Welcome back! Im in with blender too. I hate the interface but I still trying. Not like maya or 3d studio max.

Exactly! Although my main concern is that once I get used to Blender, whether I forget how to use Maya. Such dilemma haha

You will always remember the main things. The things you might confuse will be shortcuts and little things that vary from program to program in the interface. I used so many programs in my life and that's my dilemma with them.

welcome back!

It’s been a long time coming xP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61