TONIGHT'S CALL

in #blog6 years ago

Tonight's call is nothing I've ever experienced. It started at 4 pm, but I actually got there at about 4:15 pm. The senior registrar just looked at me and asked "is this when your call starts?", I was like "no ma". She then said okay, you can join us.

Screenshot_20181006-005625.jpg

When I entered she was trying to stabilize a patient. The patient was a primigravida and there was fetal distress. The moment I saw her I was so scared, confused and whatnot. The next thing I heard was "hand me that sonicaid". At first I couldn't remember what that was, I was completely lost. By the time I came back to my senses the nurse already gave it to her. After a while the anesthetist walked into the place and said "we are ready for you". Then I realised that they want to carryout an emergency cesarean section. They didn't take much time, they were out in less than an hour.

When I thought I had seen something big, I didn't know bigger was on its way. This time around it was a patient that was referred from a private clinic with eclampsia. She was rushed into the labour ward. Immediately the doctors started resuscitation and administering the necessary medications. Before I realised what was happening she had convulsed. It was so bad that she even bit her tongue. I felt really sorry for her.

I knew tonight's call was not going to be interesting so immediately I ran into the call room. I've had enough fir one night. I don't want to be traumatized more than I have been.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57