Colourful but Sad Images from Bird Market in Mantrijeron

in #blog5 years ago

While I was walking in the streets of Mantrijeron area of Yogyakarta, I saw a fish market but it was closed. I really wondered what they have inside. I love local bazaars and markets because these places represent the actual culture of each country. You can easily access every important characteristic information about the society. I skipped that place and kept walking for 250 meters. Then I saw a bird market sign. Fish market is kinda OK for me but a bird market? Why? I entered in straight off.

In bird market, there were about 100 small shops which selling and buying birds. I felt like I was actually in a bird jail. Hundreds of birds were in their cages separately, thousands of them were together in some common cages. The ambience was very dirty and emotionally sad for me. As I walked through the corridors of market, I was hearing the warblings and singings of the different lovely birds. These are some photos from bird market and I feel sorry for all animals which are traded for pleasure and money.

Number 1 - These two cuties were trying to tell something to each other with their puzzled eyes.
1.jpg

Number 2 - This sweety is in a different colour from the above one but they look in same kind. I do not know the name of the bird species but they look so lovely.
2.jpg

Number 3 - These owls are the last bird species which should be caged in. They look very depressed. She is looking at me like 'Can you please save us from here?' I am especially sorry for this wild and royal birds.
3.jpg

Number 4 - After a long day in the market, a shop owner is sleeping in front of her shop. I wish you no customer for tomorrow...
4.jpg

Free the wings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59