You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Diagnosis ADHD ADD

in #blog5 years ago

Sorry for those horrible things you experienced. I can't imagine living a life in a time when people aren't as aware of the mental illnesses as we are now.

To find out that all my illnesses I have had over the past 25 years of been an adult have been down to ADHD makes me think about what I could have done with my life if I had known sooner.

Indeed, it is really hard to live when you don't even know what's going on with yourself. I lived like that for 10 years too. Was horrible! But I'm glad you were able to know about it now and that you're taking medicines. Before those meds though, did the doctor ask if you would like to try other methods as well? Like talk therapy, art therapy, meditation, etc?

So happy that your wife is very understanding as well. Proud of you both for overcoming this, and will overcome more challenges.

Also, use your hyperfocus as your advantage/strength. Do what you really want and it will be very rewarding once you know how to take advantage of that. Wish you all the best!

Sort:  

My youth was hard, so hard that I have blocked some of the really bad stuff out, my mum was telling the doctor things and I didn't even remember them until she brought it up.
I am into art, I draw all the time and make things, it is something that keeps me calm but I tend not to finish projects and they end up in the bin as I feel like they're a failure.
I have been to talking therapy with the NHS and private and it works, it really does but my attention span is very small and my mind wonders.

Since been on these drugs I am more focused, yesterday and today I set out with a goal in mind and achieved it.
Monday was a bad day, I knew it was going to be because I am not good with change, and taking tablets that I haven't taken before makes me panic. I spent a lot of time in bed.
My wife has seen a change in me, but I do have underlying problem too, one of the reasons I have been like I have is brain damage, from birth.
I have had a number of scans and they told me that I have scarring in there somewhere. they told me that this medication had a 50/50 chance of working with me.
I took that chance as I really wanted to be able to hold a conversation without my mind wandering off on to other things.

It has changed a lot in my life as we have seen a difference already, I am not a big fan of pills but this is a must as I want to be myself and not some person who cracks jokes to avoid situations.

thanks @hiddenblade (great username by the way :D)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88