You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wedding Day - Thai Style!

in #blog5 years ago

Fascinating.
I wouldnot be able to marry there. I would not stand more thana minute on my knees! :)
Would they exhonerate the coupl from kneeling if there is a physical impediment?
I wonder how less affluent couples celebrate. I wonder how much a wedding like this might cost. This one was kind of lavish (for our standards, anyway). I guess they get lots of presents that somehow compensate any expenses.
Here in Venezuela, in the last decade or so, people started to kindly demand that presents were provided in money (cash or transfer). A rather practical measure that would equally make the guests equally unconfortable when trying to determine how much might represent a good present.

Sort:  

Hi my friend and thanks for dropping by with some great questions.
This wedding was probably average middle class. The couple had been together for many years beforehand and both worked hard to save-up! They are both mid 30s, and I see this a lot where couples with average middle class families appear to be marrying later.
When I got married, I'd practised sitting in the traditional cross-legged style but when it came to the day, sat legs to the side....the sitting, kneeling is a huge deal for Thais but at 48, I need two hip replacements afterwards lol
As for more affordable weddings, out in the villages, usually its a huge village affair with music, lots of whiskey but along similar lines but obviously much cheaper and with less of the 'sophistication' if you will.
In the city suburbs, I've seen them put tables and chairs out in the street and have one huge party!
In my pics I showed the box where you put the envelope with the cash in with the QR code on top, but I didn't see anyone do a transfer! I'd guess they prefer the anonymous envelope so no one knows who gave what althoughsome people do write a greetingon the envelope. I suppose if its anonymous, the couple may think someone hasn't given anything!
Weddings are an expensive nightmare!
The cost for this day as a package, not including the money spent on pre-wedding pics, clothes, gifts and sinsot was $13,000 USD I'm reliably informed. So, a lot of money but not out of reach for many I guess with a lot of hard work. In Thailand, show is important and not losing face even more so. It's just their way but sometimes difficult to comprehend for a foreigner!!
Thanks again and have a great weekend. Go crash a Venezuelan wedding and take some pictures please lol ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72