Who Needs Friends - Original Poem

in #blog2 years ago

It is somewhat of a doom's harbringer,
that I like hearing from a robo-caller.
As the empty words of a telemarketer,
can somewhat be a loneliness forestaller.


There is an endless sea of notifications.
None of these messages human, no doubt.
A dark pit of unread embarassment.
At least marketing wanted to reach out.


Finally invited to meet someone for a drink.
Excitedly showed up early, but on one is here.
Finish my glass and realize it was a hoodwink.
Waitress just asks if I want another beer.


Capture.PNG


Can you guess what has happened to me three time in a row recently? If you guess I was invited or told someone would meet me somewhere and no one showed up or they forgot, you are right. I was never the most good looking of my friends. I was poor most of my life. I was even homeless for some of my early adulthood. I wasn't a very good catch for girls. I got rejected a lot. It never seemed to bother me that much. But being rejected or forgotten by people that posture as friends seems to hurt more. I invest emotional capital to build some kind of rapport with people and think I'm making friend. I guess people are just being friendly as a formality. It's pretty cringy. With that said, I've felt like shit lately. I was heavily encouraged to go to my work's christmas party. I got tickets, but didn't even go. I feel like I would be disapointed somehow. Maybe next year will be better?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70