Depression fighting tips, part two

in #blog5 years ago

Hi, guys!

In my post yesterday I started telling about my own depression fighting tips, and I loved the idea of sharing it, may be someone else will find them useful, so today I decided to continue the practice, and tell some more about my personal discoveries. 

Pic

Yesterday I just told about simple things that help me to keep my feet on a ground, and today I want to go a bit deeper. Main characteristics of my depression are usually complete absence of motivation, sleeping disorder, instant feeling of guilt. If not to count physical symptoms, of course, but not about them today. And the thing is - with no motivation it's almost impossible to get things done, and the longer things are undone the bigger the sense  of guilt grows. It's a vicious circle, and actually one of the main things I had to learn was how to get out of it. 

The longer I'm developing my own system of keeping myself in a more or less productive state the more I understand simple rule - I have to fight with depression, but I don't have to fight with myself. Depression is an illness to fight, while me is a person to support. If I'm trying, as we say, to break myself over a knee and make myself do all the things I would do in normal state, not considering my brain chemistry troubles - I will absolutely fail to do them all, gain only more sense of guilt and may be finally absolutely break myself, becoming a person who can't move with a finger.

So what I developed for myself is "yes, but" system. I agree with some weaknesses depression brings me, but I try to compensate them somehow. It's "OK, I need three extra hours of sleeping, BUT afterwards I will watch one more study lecture to keep my progress on the top of my current abilities". It's "OK, I can't take care of all my house today, BUT I will find forces to at least do everything that requires only button poking effort (as laundry)."

Hopefully tomorrow I will find forces in myself to share some more tips, see you there!

Love, Inber

Sort:  

It takes some serious guts to admit these things that make you feel vulnerable, and I think your way of dealing with it is really positive and appealing. Perhaps I'll try the "yes, but" system myself too. Thanks for the tip inber! :)

Happy to hear that you found it useful😃

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for the tips. Wish you the best!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84