"Life-changing magic of tidying up" - what I found out from Mari Condo book

in #blog5 years ago

Hi, guys!

I'm that kind of person who can stuck in process of tidying up for a week or even more. On my way to minimalism I decluttered regularly and really for a long time, so step by step I became an expert in different ways of organization. At the moment I'm still on my way to a perfect living space, but yet not there.

I heard about Mari Condo method for the first time about half year ago, immediately bought the book (in case you haven't heard about it it's "Life-changing magic of tidying up" and read it in one night.

Did it change my life? Yes and no. May be my expectations were too high, but I definitely extracted some useful advises from it.

First of all I love the tip to declutter by category not by place. For example you need to declutter cloth, all your cloth, not a particular wardrobe in one room. First you have to make a pile from all your cloth to see how much do you actually have. This was a really sobering down practice for me. I decluttered 80% of all my cloth and at the moment I keep my wardrobe in a less than 100 items state. One of my next videos I will make about it.

The second tip I discovered after reading this book is the main reason to get rid of something. Such a simple exercise - take the item to your hands and ask yourself - does it spark joy? If the answer is "no" - get rid of it with no regrets.

Also she gives an awesome advice about presents you don't need/like. She says that the main goal of the present was already finished at the moment you got it. A pleasant moment for both - the person who gives you the present and for you - joy if receiving it. No need to keep it if it doesn't serve you.

This also concerns items that bring you bad memories. For example if you bought this jumper while you vere fighting with your boyfriend it's unlikely that it'll ever spark joy, even if it looks perfect on you. 

The only thing I can't understand in Mari Condo's approach is that she concerns every item as if it's alive. Probably that's too much for me. 

But in general I must say that I enjoyed the book and collected some useful advises for myself. At the moment I don't remember if I found it in this book or in some other, but I brought to life a idea of "donation box" in my house. I just have put a box close to the exit in the corridor, and I put there everything I want to get rid of, donate or have to return to somebody.

 And here's everything in video mode in case if you prefer one. Don't forget to subscribe to my YouTube channel:)

See you in the next post!

Love, Inber


Sort:  

There are people like that always considered every item to be alive like that

I think i will have to buy the Mari Condo book,I want to extract some useful advises from it

I want to try this but it's haaaarrddddd 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99