You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Not to Say is Really, Really, Very Important Not To Say ...

in #blog6 years ago

@chbartist Thank you so much for sharing this observation. Could not agree more. I have another illustrative example. A few weeks ago I went to Bulgaria to a training course about "hate speech". 1 week with 30 people from 10 different countries. During one session in the middle of the week, "hate speech fighters" started having super rough and impolite discussion regarding gipsies. For half an hour an entire conference room was filled in with shouts, screams and racial slurs. I said nothing. An entire time I just sat there observing those well-educated (I thought so) people moving their hands if they were chimpanzees. At the end of the session, one of the initiators of the discussion (can I even call it a discussion?) approached me and asked why I kept silent if I am the most active participant? I looked at him (at this time, I am 85% sure that I was not even hiding my disappointment) and said: "well, there was no discussion and sometimes, you do not need to say anything to be heard." His face... I still remember his facial expression. It was absolutely priceless. He never spoke with me ever since.

#raise.the.value.of.your.arguments_not.your.voice

Sort:  

Raise the value of your argument, not your voice.

What a great summary.

Thank you for your time and great comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61